We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #12 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very central location.

It is clean, comfortable and more than adequate for your needs.

It is a little dated in parts as mentioned in other reviews, but this does not really impact your stay.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant which was good albeit a little expensive.

Staff were curious and helpful.

You have to pay for internet access after the first 30 minutes. I always find hotels with a charging internet policy a little annoying, especially since this one serms to have a lot of guests staying on business trips.

Not a stand out star hotel, but a good solid one with no complaints.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    381
    99
    20
    10
See reviews for
119
257
67
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to start off our NZ tour and this hotel was great! Our room was quiet, clean, and we could see the Sky Tower our of our window. We only ate breakfast in the lobby resteraunt but it was good. The bed was comfortable and lots of tv options as well. The only downside was that they charge for internet. For the price I feel it should have been included.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Lowcawki,

A MASSIVE THANK YOU for your 4 star review. What better way than to start your NZ tour with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we love it when you have a great stay with us.
I'm thrilled to read you were able to relax in our quiet clean room on our comfortable beds. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team and breakfast. I will share your comments with the team - Its a real motivator!
Currently we offer complimentary internet to all our IHG rewards member worldwide - Easy to join and enjoy all the benefits which comes with it.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Worth It!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very clean and quiet hotel. We had a room overlooking the Domain and city but with little road noise. Centrally located and an easy walk to movies, theatre and restaurants; although the western side of the city is pretty quiet week nights.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are driving you can park in the general parking area underneath then take a lift up to recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear miasma,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 5 star review! I'm pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and you found our hotel perfect place to explore the city. I'm delighted to read that we are among the few hotels where everything is real!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Where its all Real!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I'm in the hotel right now. Four of us in two adjacent rooms on the 22nd floor.

The rooms are exactly like the photo at the top of the reviews - big, well furnished and comfortable. The 2 queen size beds in each room are the best I've slept in (better than home), they seem to have a very soft mattress cover.

Room, bathroom and all public areas are well designed, well detailed and spotless. We face the front street and the view is of another hotel opposite - I guess rooms on the other side get a long distance view.

The hotel entrance is also the entrance to a small shopping mall - must explore that sometime.

Reception was very efficient and helpful, although, in error, they had reserved 4 rooms when we only reserved and had confirmed two. They were glad to have the 2 spare as they were fully booked and now had more available.

Breakfast is a three tier system:-
Highest price is for the full works including cooked food (a full english to us poms). This reduces to a 'deal' price of 25D if you ask for this for your full stay, but you'll be charged this even if you miss some breakfasts.
Next is the 'continental' buffet - very good.
Lowest is an 'express' breakfast which is coffee and toast.

All served in a well designed and detailed dining room, with pleasant, attentive but not overpowering staff. Look out for the honey on the buffet table!

The guests' laundry room on floor 17 is a bonus - help yourself to soap powder and machines need a 2 dollar coin to work washer and dryer.

We have inclusive wi fi (sometimes slow) because one of us was a past guest in another of the group's hotels. Actually we were all guests at that hotel, in Toronto, but this one settled the bill!

Great hotel, great location in a great city.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear nuf_said_11,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 5 star review!! I'm pleased to read you are having a fantastic stay with us. Great to hear that you found our bed better than home- Thats a huge compliment for us!

Thank you for your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and our team were efficient and helpful to put your reservation right. I'm glad to read that you were informed regarding our breakfast choices and thank you explaining in detail which will be useful for other readers. My restaurant team will be delighted to read your comments- its a real motivator!

I'm glad you liked all our small touches we offer like the guest laundry on 17th floor, Gym on 12th floor and more…

I look forward to welcome you and your friends in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Great hotel, Great location in a Great city - by nuf_said_11
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Crowne Plaza Auckland was a nice location to be at if you just wanted to walk around the city area. Sky Tower was a block away and we had a great view from our room. Located in the bottom floor was a food court where we ate at twice. The rooms were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good place to stay.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear SCsketcher,

A MASSIVE THANK YOU for your 5 star review! I'm pleased to read you had a great stay with as and you found our hotel to be base to explore the city. Thank you for your kind word regarding our friendly and helpful team. Next time around I highly recommend to try our Aria restaurant and I'm positive you will love it.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Location! Location!! Location!!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I contacted the hotel prior to my arrival to ask for advice for transportation as this was my first trip to New Zealand and with arrival at 12:45 a.m. I didn't want to hire (rent) a car after the long flight from the states. The hotel staff quickly responded to my email and arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport. The driver was waiting for us as at the airport at the Customs exit. The hotel room was spacious, affordable, and super clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the views weren't bad. We did have to wait to get on the elevator to get back to our room one night when a big tour group arrived, but luckily jumped the line to fit on one with the travel group. The on-site laundry, with complementary laundry detergent, was very convenient and easy to use and certainly beat trying to locate a laundromat. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is only a few blocks to the harbor and Viaduct. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hbracker,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 5 star review!! I'm thrilled to read you had an fantastic stay with us and found our hotel to be a good base to exploring the city and New Zealand. I'm really pleased to read you had a great arrival experience, Also you loved all our small touches we offer! Please accept my apologies for the small wait for elevators on one night during your stay.
Thank you for recommending us to be your first choice in Auckland!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - A very cosy corner between NZ and your heart!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Yes, there are newer, fancier, better located hotels in Auckland. But, for the price, you can't do better than this Crowne Plaza. The staff throughout were great -- friendly and helpful. We stayed in a club room, and the lounge and personnel manning it were superb. It did get a bit crowded some evenings, but the food, drink and service were great. It's a short walk to the Harbor and just about everything else, and the restaurant was quite nice and not too out of line with outside choices. Keep a eye on the rates, as they were significantly less by the time we actually visited. Again, for value, you'll have a hard time matching this facility.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear SharkFlorida_USA,

THANK YOU for your great four star review!! I'm delighted to read you had a great stay with us. I cannot agree with you more regarding your comment comparing facilities to value! Our best rates are always available on www.ihg.com.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our team especially our Club lounge superstars. Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right. Feel free to contact to let me know what we could do to move you to a 5 Star review on your next stay!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - For couples, families and friends!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.5 mi away
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 76 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,892 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#6 of 76 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#13 of 76 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#16 of 76 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.