We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice improvements and consistently good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice improvements and consistently good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's been a while since I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza Auckland, and it's great to see that IHG Rewards Club Platinum members are now clearly recognised and offered the important benefits of the programme at checkin - a room upgrade, late checkout, free Wi-Fi, and a warm welcome from the front desk staff, although I'm sure all guests can expect the latter! Previously this had been a little inconsistent, so I was very pleasantly surprised.

I would choose a 5 star rating but for a couple of things. Firstly, a previous guest had asked for the a/c in the room to be set uncomfortably warm, so some fine tuning by maintenance was needed to get it back to a sane level. I prefer the independent a/c units at the Holiday Inn near the airport, but I realise this isn't really practical in a high rise building. Secondly, I had paid for my parking in the adjacent Atrium car park as part of my room bill, but the parking card wasn't properly validated, so the barrier wouldn't let me out. Thankfully, the attendant opened it manually. The yummy eye fillet steak from room service was worth an extra half star, but TripAdvisor doesn't allow this, so, consider this a 4 1/2 star review!

To management: Please consider offering at least one easily accessible power point by the bed, since working at a desk at the end of a long day can sometimes be a bit much. Please and thank you!

Room Tip: The 'high floor' rooms seem to be eligible for a Club upgrade for IHG Platinums. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ddnz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the great benefits of being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and had a successful stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. You can make the most of these benefits at any IHG hotels worldwide in addition to our Auckland properties.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and your suggestions have been duly noted and marked for discussion internally. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused after your parking ticket was not validated properly. We have discussed this with our front desk staff following your review.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip up to Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    437
    112
    22
    10
See reviews for
140
292
78
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everything here was amazing. The porter got our bags to our room pronto. The food in the hotel restaurant was superb and the staff polite, helpful and efficient.

The terrible mark on the pool is an accident, I can't get it to go away

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Peggy K,

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again on your next trip to Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Its a great place with everything you need...

Service is what makes this place great, consistently good service (check-in staff to the restaurant)
The only issue is parking, we were lucky to spot a hotel staff member who helped us with our luggage at the entrance while we drove around the multi level car park.

The good:
Service
Rooms & cleanliness
Quality of food at the restaurant
Mini bar range

OFI:
The Internet connection & speed was shocking
Better discounted parking rates for hotel guests
Valet parking

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear thetruecritic,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Crown Plaza Auckland.

We are thrilled that you had a successful stay in Auckland and found our service to be of a high standard.

Complimentary Internet is available for IHG Rewards Club Elite members and will be rolled out to all members in 2014. We hope that you can make the most of this next time you stay at Crowne Plaza or other IHG hotels.

Thank you again for providing your feedback.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What do you look for in a hotel convenient location

Its got it., less then 5 minutes walk to the Sky tower and a slow leisurely 10 minute wander down to the harbour front, right in the centre of town. However, be warmned Auckland is a bit hilly so if you have limited mobility it might be the easiest city to get round on foot!

Clean bedroom with crips sheets and nice bath room

It's got in spades.

Comfy bed for a good nights sleep, as with the "Intercontinental chain" the beds have a lovely deep and welcoming topper on them which you just sink into but you get firm support underneath from the mattrass, wonderful top marks!

Good food, well I did not eat dinner in the hotel but the there was a excellent buffet breakfast with everything that you would expect, hot and cold for "first and second breakfasts" to quote the hobbits!!

Friendly and helpfull staff: They all exceeded here except they did tried to send me to the wrong museum but put it done to my unusual "English" accent!!

Cost, well as it was a weekend the rate so it was very good too.

So I could not recommend a better situtated and friendly hotel. Would I go back in a flash, well after over 24 hrs in the plane that is!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear pair211,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are so pleased that you had a successful stay from our central location.

We look forward to passing on your warm comments to all of our teams. We are pleased that you enjoy staying at IHG hotels across the globe and we trust that you have already signed up to IHG Rewards Club so you can earn points on your stays at any IHG hotel.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had an outstanding stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. The room was lovely, albeit not much of a view (but who goes to Auckland for a view!) The staff were extremely helpful and I had a superb dinner meal.

The buffet breakfast is always exceptional, and this stay was no different.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for providing us with valuable insights from your recent stay.

The team were delighted to read that you enjoyed your last visit. We strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations with our hotel amenities, location and the breakfast service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located right next to the SkyCity and the main street, Queen St. It is just a short 10 mins walk to the waterfront. If you are driving, parking is only $10 on the weekend, $24 on other days. Not much of a view if you are staying in the west facing room. Great view if you are score a east facing room, not much of a view on the western room - except the the Sky tower as a consolation.

Situated above a shopping mall with a food court and its central location, there are plenty of options when it comes to meal time. Hotel staff was friendly, rooms are clean and well maintained. The Lounge on level 28 was a great place to grab a quick bite and drink before dinner. Hot breakfast at the hotel is good value if you can get it as part of a promotional package.

Will definitely stay here again on our next Auckland trip.

Room Tip: Get an east facing room if you want a view and do not mind the morning sun/ sunlight do leak into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear cl_sydney,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location close to Sky City as well as shops and restaurants.


I am pleased that you also enjoyed your guestroom as well as the breakfast buffet at Aria Restaurant. We are grateful for your appreciation towards our effort in providing excellent service and facilities. The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable hotel experience when you next return to Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in Auckland on Holiday and had to find a place for three nights on short notice. From beginning to end the facility and staff were great. Early check-in was facilitated (lots of bags!!). Took advantage of the lounge and bar. Room was comfy and more than reasonable $$. Breakfast was outstanding. The location was a short walk to anywhere in the CBD. Will definitely come back next time we're in Auckland. We also had a great view of the 3 AM thunder, lighting and rain show on 22 September!!! 1,000 + lighting strikes a Rarity for the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear GDexterD

Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are pleased to read that we left you with so many wonderful memories and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.