We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Average Crown Plaza with Poorly trained staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #12 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Average Crown Plaza with Poorly trained staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Crown Plaza continually manages to ruin my business trips. Firstly on a positive note, the hotel in Auckland is well situated and the rooms are large with a great view. The beds are good quality and the hotel facilities are adequate. Housekeeping were excellent.The concierge desk was well staffed and they couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent work from them. Their best concierge employee was leaving to move to Crown Plaza Gold Coast which will be a bonus for them as that is still the worst hotel Ive stayed at. (see earlier review CP Surfers Paradise) The bathrooms are clean but tiny like Holiday Inns with nowhere to put your toiletries on the basin. The business suit on level 14 was very basic. The restaurant served a great variety on the menu but the food was bland and over priced. The waiters were friendly. Breakfast was very good and fresh.
Now the negatives....checkin staff were unhelpful and not very knowledgeable of hotel facilities or the internet options which is a shame since this is a business persons hotel. I asked for the 24 hour 1GB internet option which lasts for as long as you stay or until you use the 24hrs allocated to use. They got this wrong and gave me the 24hour 2GB option which expires after 24hrs. Therefore i had to request another 24hours. When it came to paying the bill i had to dispute this as they hadn't given me what I asked for in the first place. They didn't seem to understand until I explained it inn detail to them. So they knocked $10 whole dollars off the bill. I wasted 20mins debating to save $10. Waste of my time. The room key cancelled itself after 3 days so I had to go back and get another one. They had the bill in the wrong name and charged me twice for dinner. Once when i paid on my card and again on the bill. Front desk staff at a few of the Crown Plaza's I have had to stay at for work have been less than helpful or knowledgeable. It is a shame as they are the face of the hotel and don't leave me with the confidence to choose Crown Plaza for my holidays. There were a few other issues of minor importance but they leave a sour taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear GregH272

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments .

We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay in our well appointed guest rooms and we will certainly share your feedback with our talented concierge team, who I am sure will appreciate the kind words.

We are concerned with several aspects of your stay and your comments will help us improve the quality of the product and services we provide to all our customers.

We do apologise if we missed the opportunity to meet your expectations regarding the information that our staff provide. Your feedback is duly noted and we will be discussing your comments with the front desk team in order to address where we fell short during your stay. We acknowledge that communication was an issue and we will be taking the necessary steps to address this.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    394
    99
    20
    10
See reviews for
124
261
70
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed the night to attend the Direct Marketing Conference and found my room very comfortable, clean and the room service great. Wine was on the expensive side but the cheese plate externdedm to breakfast! The Ballroom was a good conference venue.

Room Tip: Higher the better because of drumming low hum from Ellkiot St area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to read that you had a successful stay with us during the recent Direct Marketing Conference and were able to relax in the comfort of our guest rooms.

I will pass on your feedback regarding the prices of our wine to our Food & Beverage Management Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit to Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Teh Crowne Plaza is in a great location in the CBD - just across from the casino and a 3 minute walk from the main shopping street.

We had a Club room with a beautiful city and harbour view on the 27th Floor. Well maintained and up to date.

Couple of things to watch - rooms not as soundproof as you'd expect; and if you don't like heights - two of the four elevators have glass back walls with views of the city. But of so high!

Room Tip: Try for a corner room - likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Clare L.

Thank you so much for your review.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the quality of your stay. It is our goal to ensure that every guest leaves this hotel rested and refreshed. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic central location which is essential for a successful stay in Auckland City.

Your feedback regarding the sound issues is duly noted and we will discuss this internally. The glass elevators are very popular with our guests and we have 2 elevators available for those that do not like heights.

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Auckland, we hope to see you again next time you are in our wonderful city.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here overnight - rooms are clean and comfortable, staff are friendly enough but was slightly annoyed by a series of unstopping questions about whether I would want to upgrade the room or add breakfast deals. Otherwise a very good location, close to Queen street and skytower. Solidly good hotel to stay in, but it's not the most amazing, mind-blowing hotel experience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have good views, and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear NoMadLady22,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

I was thrilled to read your favorable comments about the room and location and overall I am pleased you had a successful stay. Please accept my apologies for the check-in experience. We will review your comments with the front office team.

Your comments are important to the success of our hotel, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Thanks again for taking the time to submit your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11,495 helpful votes 11,495 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a 15 hour (maybe more) ride from Dallas, we have always thought it nice to "land" here. The folks at the reception make you feel special. We stayed in the Club floor and had a corner room - with a wonderful view of the Sky Tower. We had "Happy Hour" in the Lounge and it was very nice. Great place to meet new folks from around the world. Our room was spacious and super clean. This is one place that understands the need for ICE. It would be nice if the breakfast (in the Club Lounge) had more variety with some hot foods (such as eggs and bacon). We will definitely stay here again on our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Patrica W.

Thank you for having stayed with us here at the Crowne Plaza Auckland and for taking the time to leave your review about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff and services accommodating and friendly. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the Club floor facilities and made the most the added benefits of staying in a Club Room.

Although we have an ice machine on the 28th floor, as an alternative, our room service can deliver ice to the room upon request.

Gourmet continental breakfast is available in the club lounge. A delicious cooked buffet breakfast is available at the hotel restaurant or alternatively, we can deliver a cooked breakfast to your room. We hope you will try this on your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

it nice place to stay in short term,good value money also great area right on the central down town of Auckland,shopping and eatery right down stairs in the mall,handy to catch public transport to Onehunga(outlet mall) and Sky city casino,or walking down to Queens st and only takes few minute to Aoetaroa square park

Room Tip: get booking in advance and try to get higher up level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Chandrsari,

Thank you for the great review!

We are thrilled that your stay here at the Crowne Plaza Auckland was perfect for your travel needs and made for a successful stay in Auckland City. The location of the hotel is certainly great for guests who want to be in the midst of all that the city has to offer. We hope you enjoyed visiting all the sights and attractions in Auckland. There is always something new to see and do in Auckland and our concierge team are on hand for recommendations during your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the City Of Sails and having you stay with us again.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had spent 2 weeks travelling around NZ in our own car, and decided to have 2 last nights right in the centre of Auckland - what a great choice we made!
The room was spacious and comfortable - plenty of room for us and our 10 year old.
We loved the glass elevated going up to our 25th level room.
The restaurant was pleasant, and good quite good - although my husband's steak could have been cooked better.
There was limited free WiFi available in our room, and the café next door also had free WiFi.
We had been very active in the 2 weeks before this stay - so it was nice just to take it easy - there is a great spa/salon directly opposite and my husband had a massage and I had a facial.
We wouldn't normally sit in hotel rooms, but our son enjoyed the 24hours of unlimited movies for $26 (normally $15-$16 per movie)
Staff were friendly and helpful
We had booked and paid for this stay before we left Australia - so the room rate was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are pleased to hear that you were truly satisfied with our very spacious and comfortable rooms. We are thrilled that you had a successful stay with your family and that your son enjoyed the glass elevator and made the most of our unlimited video service. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our Executive Chef regarding the quality of the steak that you ordered. Your comments help us to continuously work harder to ensure we can provide the finest service to our guests.

Once again thank you very much for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.