We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and good hotel to stay in Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #12 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and good hotel to stay in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for a week, hotel staff (from concierge, front desk to the breakfast table) are very friendly and always helpful and polite.

Hotel is in a very good location in Auckland. Just next door to the Sky tower, casino, lotsa convenience shop, food and also inner circle bus.
Very clean and spacious room and super comfortable bed!

Highly recommended hotel to stay if you are in Auckland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland and taking time to write this thoughtful review.

We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with our services and facilities.

We will pass your comments on to our service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    382
    98
    20
    10
See reviews for
119
257
67
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm very sorry, because my english is not so good. I will share my story about luggage key which left in Jakarta, Indonesia when i came to Auckland.

The Resume :
I with my wife and two boys with a group tour Avia Tour from Jakarta, Indonesia, checked in at 5 th august 2013 in the evening, 21.30. That was the first night we were in New Zealand,
When i tried to open the luggage in the room, i was very very surprised.
I Left my luggage key in my home in Jakarta, Indonesia.
I went to the lobby and met your Concierge staff and told him the case.
Your Concierge Staff tried to open and broke the key but could not, because the luggage, Samsonite has hard and Rigid body and built in key.
MS Sherida Vorpahl, Assistant Manager, Concierge, is good manager, she help me and tried to open the key with wire patiently, but could not open too. She tried to looking for keys in the concierge drawer and tried to open with all the keys, nothing match.

I told to her, that the luggage key like a drawer key. She went to the office for a minutes and came out with a number of keys.
Surprised, Thanks God, one of the key match with my luggage.

I was very very happy and hug her and couldnt say anything only thank you thank you ten times i thought.
I was very surprised too, Ms Sherida gave the key to me. I Said how much i must pay for that nearly 40 minutes trying and the key.
She said the key was free because I must need the key during our remain seven days in New Zealand.

Once again I say, very very thank you to Ms Sherida Vorpahl for her help, her attention for me.
And may God Bless Her and Hotel Management, success for you forever.

Regards,
Arifin Wibisana, Jakarta, Indonesia.

Room Tip: Nothing comment because good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Arifin,

Thank you for the excellent 5-star review!

We are thrilled to hear that Sherida Vorpahl , our Assistant Manager provided you with exceptional service during your stay. We are excited to read your wonderful comments and thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that our staff managed to make your stay an “excellent one”. We will share your feedback with our management & staff.

We are also very pleased to note that your overall stay was great and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The good... The bed is one of the most comfortable I have had in a hotel in a while, and I found the hotel to be generally pretty quiet. Pleasant room on the 26th floor. In town for a conference, so was very convenient.

The bad... I wasn't sure how clean my room was... I found litter under the foot stool, and some one else's hair on my towels. (Ew.) I would not recommend room service, as I'd never seen cooked green prawns until I stayed here.

Overall, I would stay here again, but would not bother with the food.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

I am pleased that you had a restful sleep and enjoyed our great central location - perfect for a successful stay in Auckland City.

We are sorry to read about the problems encountered with the cleanliness of your room. First of all we would like to apologize and to assure you that we have discussed the points you raised with our Operations Manager (Rooms and Food & Beverage). As a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that this will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve our service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Auckland again in the future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

i always stay at crowne plaza auckland.
but had a couple of issues one being stuck between 1family either side of our room and every 5 minutes for about 3 hours they were slamming doors which really annoyed me greatly.
and we found the sky tv to be really basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear stepehn k,

Thank you for your valuable comments which give us an opportunity to evaluate the most important aspect of the guest experience, your comfort of sleep.

Issues such as this do occur from time to time and if it occurs again on your next stay, please let our front desk team know and they will do what they can to address any noise issues.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and be rest assured the next time you return to Auckland, we will ensure your stay is a memorable one.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times, always on the Club floor which represents very good value for money. Spacious high level rooms with good lighting, seating and work space, and a decent sized bathroom with good amenities. Excellent staff. Free evening canapes and drinks are generous and of high quality, as is the free breakfast. There are four lifts in this property, two of which are glassed in on the outside of the building. If you don't like heights, you might have to wait for the inside lift!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Albert St side have a great view of the Casino's guided bungee jump wires - but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear DeekayAdelaide,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us had a successful time in Auckland City. We always strive to accommodate all of our guest needs and we are so pleased we were able to do this for you during your stay.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in the CBD and a block from Queen Street, the main shopping drag. It is a good location - convenient to all transportation and sites, but the area around the hotel is seedy and not very attractive. While there were clearly other tourists like us staying at the Crowne Plaza, it seemed overwhelmingly a conference hotel. The lobby is open, cold feeling and disorienting and connects directly to a shopping plaza with many fast food Asian restaurants. Our double-bedded room was comfortable with expected amenities (coffee/tea, safe, etc) , but there was nothing particularly remarkable about it one way or the other. Breakfast was included with the room price and was quite good. There was a diverse selection of hot and cold options to appeal to all tastes and nationalities. We were impressed there were even gluten free choices and a Vitamix to make whatever veggie/juice concoction you wanted. A very nice touch indeed!

Per a Trip Advisor suggestion, we called the hotel in advance to have them book a taxi to pick us up from the airport because it was supposedly cheaper that way. We were expecting a $35-$45 NZ rate. Instead, we were charged nearly $85 for the 40 minute ride, which was how much it would have cost had we just stepped into a cab from the airport and not reserved in advance. For the return trip, I asked the concierge at the hotel to book a cab and the first company she called gave her a rate of $75. Another concierge stepped in and said not to use that company because they are always the most expensive. Instead, she called Discount Cabs and the rate was $35. (cash only). We were very pissed off that the concierge who booked our original cab from the airport just automatically booked the most expensive taxi company. While we should have confirmed the price in advance, I still think it was remiss of the concierge. Word to the wise – prices vary enormously by taxi company, so if you pre-book, be sure to use Discount Cabs or a similar option.

While there is nothing special about this hotel, it is a solid choice. We would stay here again because the location is central, the rooms are comfortable enough and the breakfast is tasty. I would have given it 3 1/2 stars but that was not an option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland .

I am pleased that you had a successful stay in Auckland while based at our convenient central location. Please accept our apologies for falling short in giving you the best possible information regarding the taxi fare from Auckland airport to our hotel.

When you called the concierge to arrange a pick up from Airport to hotel they arranged a corporate cab to pick you up which is about $85 from airport to our hotel. We have discussed your comment with our concierge team and they should have given you a choice regarding different taxi options. If you take a corporate cab the fare is $85. If you take the super shuttle they charge $43 for two people, however Discount Cabs are a bit complicated if you book a pick up from the airport as you have to call them upon arrival at the international airport and they will tell you to go to the small McDonalds shop turn left and they will wait for you there but if you want to be collected with the board and your name right at the international arrival gate it is another $20 extra charge. On departure the concierge should have given you the cheapest option which is the $35,00 from Discount taxi.

Please be rest assured that the point you have raised will be closely considered and revisited, with the appropriate actions taken to ensure that we deliver the best service possible to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I had a night in the city (without kids) while in NZ on holiday. We were upgraded to a Priority Club room which was a nice clean, modern, spacious room on the 27th floor with nice views. Good to have free wifi. We had a drink and canapés in the club lounge (also nice views) in the evening which was very nice and also breakfast there in the morning. The hotel is in a great central location, close to Queen Street and Aotea Square. We had dinner in The Stables (an indoor area with lots of restaurants) which is a short walk. Parking is $24 for one night stay but we were able to leave the car there after we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Kiwinad,

We are thrilled to read your wonderful review and thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share it here on Trip Advisor.

We are happy that we have met your expectations and that you appreciated the room upgrade. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1030, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
#10 Business Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;