We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect doughnuts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ed's Cake and Coffee House

Ed's Cake and Coffee House
2 Commissariat Road | Mount Wellington, Auckland 1060, New Zealand
+64 9 589 1183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Bakeries in Auckland
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect doughnuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Love this place drove all the way from hamilton to have it and was awesome. Doughnuts are perfect consistency, " not too sweet, and had the banana tart which was delish! Mince and curry and mince and cheese were great and really filling. Staff are super friendly with superb service and everything on display is super fresh, the chocolate cake they recommended was perfectly rich and flavourful! I definitely recommend dropping by.. Only downside is they don't take credit cards but they do take nz eftpos

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Solid Baking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very impressed by the baking. Chicken curry and Beef mince was good. like the Plum Frangipane Tart? Highly recommended. Don't try to find the place without a GPS if you are a visitor like us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Pies In Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I just love Eds Pies, at Eds Cakes the pies are the best in Auckland. I always get a Mince and cheese pie, itis just yummy. I get some cake for my God-Mother as she loves Eds Cakes and pasteries.

I also get a Mince and Curry pie for my Dad, as dads says it's the best Mince & Curry Pie he has ever tasted. Dad says the Mince & Curry Pie is not just the best Mince & Curry Pie in Auckland, but it is the best Mince & Curry Pie in New Zealand. He actually says it is also the best Mince & Curry Pie in Australasia & South East Asia!

The coffee is very nice at Eds Cakes as well.

Cheer!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eds Cakes & Eds Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I think Eds pies are the best in Auckland. I had a Mince & Cheese pie that was just perfect. I love the pies at Eds. I try a different pie every time I visit. I love the pies here. The service is alwas very good. Eds brother Ray helps out at the weekends and is always very informative. The cakes are the best in Auckland. I just love the taste of the pies though.

My friend Gary loves the donuts and pasteries.

But not as much as I love Eds pies... The yummiest pies in Auckland for sure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eds Cakes and Eds Pies are the best in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have a Curry Mince Pie once a week, It's just right... mild curry

He also does a hot Curry Chicken Pie. O course Ed is a top pastry chef so he know his stuff

He does the best pastries I've tasted.The pis are very tasty

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Cake and Coffee House also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ed's Cake and Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ed's Cake and Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.