We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and great service everytime means I rate this as my favorite Japanese Restaurant ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kushi Japanese Kitchen & Bar

Kushi Japanese Kitchen & Bar
22 Durham St West | Shop A Ground Floor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
64 09 368 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,180 restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Please come and enjoy our great atmosphere & great food.Kushi Japanese Kitchen & Bar officially opened on 2nd Dec 2011, serving authentic Japanese cuisine including sushi, Yakitori, Tepanyaki, Sashimi and more.* Car Park – We support our customers for car park.Please pay $3 and grab a ticket at KUSHI first before parking and display it on the dashboard at Tournament Car Park only on Durham Street West. It is normally $7.The parking ticket is valid from 4pm to 8am the following day (7 days).Please be advised that we are not responsible for any damages or lost property on your cars at Tournament Car Park.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Beautiful food and great service everytime means I rate this as my favorite Japanese Restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I only travel to Auckland a few fimes a year and this restaurant is always great and always has good service. I luv the The dinner boxes, the atmosphere and the friendly service..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wow...just admire the decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The interior decor is stunning and whilst it was a little disappointing that the Japanese drum performance didn't go ahead as planned, the food and ambience were great. Staff were attentive and kudos goes to Lara, one of the waitresses who served us who always greeted us with a smile. What a difference that makes, keep it up !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Im in Love...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The team there were lovely, food was delicious and just blown away by the decor, felt we were sitting in a village, but inside and fancy..
Great price and love the fact they offer combos of beers and nibbles, which is perfect if your having a couple of causal beves after work
Absolutely Adore Kushi, My new favourite

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Can't be beat for value +++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We visited Auckland on our way home (to Cairns) from our French Polynesia holiday.

What an awesome find!

Auckland city has a huge number of Japanese eateries (mainly sushi type outlets), this Kushi we found by walking up Queen St and then seeing it by chance off one of the side streets.

Firstly, the restaurant is huge and decorated in typical "Western" Japanese style. The staff are very friendly (Ayako was our waitress) and genuinely Japanese (many times Japanese establishments are staffed by non Japanese (but Asian) staff!)

My wife tried the Pork Katsudon meal and I had the Chicken Katsudon meal ($25 NZD each)

Well that just blew me away! (we have a lot of Japanese eateries in Cairns)

We got 2 sushi rolls plus sashimi on one plate and a bowl of miso soup.
In a bento box, we got two pieces of crumbed fish, vegetable tempura plus a prawn tempura, some green seaweed, some shredded cabbage, the katsudon over a bed of rice, plus a few pieces of cut up fruit. Accompanying sauces and wasabe.

As an added bonus, with our exchange rate, we get an automatic 20% discount on the NZD. A similar style meal would be at least $40-45 NZD here in Australia!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kushi Japanese Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kushi Japanese Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kushi Japanese Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.