We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antoine's Restaurant

Antoine's Restaurant
333 Parnell Road, Auckland, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 1,294 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The first time I went I was expecting the typical French fine dining, i.e. tiny portions of work of art that you're not sure if you should actually eat it. But how wrong I was. My husband and I have been there numerous times since then and have often taken out of town visitors there. The food is fantastic and of good portion... The service is non intrusive even though it could be a little 'too french' lol... Then again that's because we are not the type that dress up to the nines to go to dinner at a place like this like most do... But still, love the food!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OH MY GOD! SO OUTDATED AND SO BAD!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Christmas day lunch was a winter menu on a hot humid summers day - ghastly! Absolutely outragious cost. $180 per person + 15% gst + 15% surcharge for a 5 course meal (including a soup course, and Christmas Mince Pies (as a course!!!) and the desserts were Christmas Pudding or Rice Pudding or Fresh Fruit with Cassis or Meringue with Fresh Fruit). Staff were not particularly friendly, the decor was tired and filthy. The food was mediocre at best. I would recommend at least 20 restaurants in Auckland over Antoines..... including Meredith's, Dine, Roxy, The French Cafe......
IT'S NOT the 1980s anymore!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"oh my"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Antoines is still a fabulous experience, Roasted Ducking was meltingly delicious,and white Choc Roulade special event food was incredibly beautiful.
Choose Antoines for fine french food

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have gone to this Restaurant for the past 20 years and every time we want something special and know it is always top class we book to go there. The "Nostalgia Menu" we select from everytime- nice ambiance too and also good parking close by. Certainly the best Restaurant in town.. They check with you on the afternoon of your booking that you are still going- they usually are pretty full. We take friends and relatives on occasions but often only go as a couple.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Five of us attended Antoines for our friends birthday dinner.
For the first course, I had the Stewart Is. oysters - tempura style. Wonderfully flavoured, though quite different to that of Bluff oysters.
The main was eye filet with a wonderful bearnaise sauce. Very tasty!

The portion sizes were ample and you shouldn't really have any need to go home hungry, at all! Entree, main and dessert with a coffee! Great flavours! And a choice of two menus: Nostalgic or flavours de jour!
I like the fact it's bookings only and you must be let into the premise. No walk-ins.

Disappointed....I took so long to go!!!! Wonderful. Enjoy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antoine's Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Antoine's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antoine's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.