We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brewery Britomart

The Brewery Britomart
69 Custom Street East, Auckland, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 1,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: International, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The business card lists www.thebrewerybritomart.co.nz but this is not online yet as the BrewPub/Restaurant has only opened two days ago! Fantastic new location in central AKL, great, friendly owners, good beer (made on site) and a good Chef. I'd really like to write them a review to spread the word.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The food is amazing, i say a 10 out of 10. The satff were friendly too

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place is amazing. Great big copper brewing tanks and the guy knows his beers. This is not quaffing stuff but beer to be savoured and revelled in. The IPA i had was jumpy, hoppy and fresh and had a bitter sweet after-taste that lingered seductively at the back of my throat. Coupled with the generous bread board with jummy dips and quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar exquisite!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere plus great food, great staff and great beers !!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Went the first time to Brewery on a friend's recommendation one month ago. Clearly a place where the locals like to hang out. Since I have been here many times so felt it was about time I placed a review!

Last time, went on a saturday night, there was a good buzz as usual. Good band as well to dance!
Excellent food, a good new menu to match with their very unique home brew beers (Custom 69, my favorite, an indian pale).
Tried the veggie platter, to share with my boyfriend. Yummy yummy (full of colour and flavour), then tried their special of the day, a slow cooked lamb shank casserole (with lamb consommé jelly). Was very tasty and with a nice presentation for a "pub food", really really surprise!
I'm generally crazy with sweet and desert... I was in paradise! Tried the caramel, chocolate and peppermint tart, now just want to go back at the brewery for this desert! Matched that with a Black Rose (stout plenty of body and roasty malt flavours).Yummmmmm!

Would definitely recommend for a group of friends, cool place to chill with good ol' buddies, for dinner, snack or just beers !!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were given a groupon for two pizzas and two beers while we were on holiday in NZ recently and were very pleasantly surprised by the food at The Brewery.
There was a great selection of beers available and an option with the pizzas for the staff to recommend one to have it which is a nice idea. The pizza was delicious; really fresh, crispy and tasty.
Great service, food and beer; you can't really go wrong with this place!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Gem of a find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had low expectations... it looks very pub like (hardly surprsing really, given it's name and intent to serve boutique beer) and it was practically empty, (it was a Monday night) but boy..... were we in for a surprise.

The PInot Noir was an unknown winery and vintage and turned out to be superb (2010 Invivo from Central Otago) and the Eye Fillet Steak wrapped in bacon, served with onion rings, and potatoes and the most divine cherry tomatoes stuffed with garlic was a generous, hearty serving, and couldn't be faulted.

I'd love to have seen rabbit offered as a main, as it was an ingredient in two other dishes. The menu looked very interesting, but we were both into wanting a steak, which is rare!! (ANDyes, the rare request was honoured!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery Britomart also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Brewery Britomart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brewery Britomart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.