We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsonby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponsonby House
Save
You added Ponsonby House to your Saves list
8 Douglas St | Ponsonby, Auckland 1021, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 59 Auckland B&B and Inns
Helsinki
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ponsonby House at the start of our three week NZ honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen better. The house itself is beautiful and we loved our room, but what made this expectional was the warm welcome we received- the service was extremely attentive and kind. Jonathan also gave us great tips for our travels and we truly enjoyed his company. The B&B is wonderfully located next to a lot of great restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Don't look any further than this!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette W, Owner at Ponsonby House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much. You were our first guests from Finland so we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly enjoyed your honeymoon in this beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was my fourth stay in this wonderful and welcoming B&B. I love it!! Bernadette and Jonathan are warm, witty, service oriented and overall top quality hosts which, when combined with the excellent location and very comfortable rooms, makes Ponsonby House my preferred 'home from home'. Ponsonby Road nearby is alive with great shops, cafes and restaurants and it is very easy to get anywhere in or beyond Auckland from there.I get the feeling when staying that the luxurious bedding and beautifully designed rooms have been perfectly created so I am immediately embraced by comfort and - to be honest - I am always tempted to linger and savour the feeling! A truly "delicious" experience. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Ponsonby house to visit my kiwi sister.Beds were heavenly, rooms immaculate, hosts Bernadette and Jonathan wonderful and warm. Fresh baked crossiants in the morning were too yummy to say no to!
Its location is great close to shops, restaurants and lovely walk down to habour or city centre.
High recommend a stay at Ponsonby House

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice rooms and great location, steps from Ponsonby Road. Bernadette's scones are delicious. Nice, large rooms with comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Ponsonby House for two nights and it were the best nights of our visit in New Zealand! Jonathan and Bernadette were so nice and welcoming! Their house is in the middle of Ponsonby, all the nice shops are right around the corner. Our room (Jasmin) and bathroom are spotlessly clean and the bed was heavenly comfortable.
We would always come back to Ponsonby House and recommend it HIGHLY to anyone who comes to Auckland and wants to have a excellent accommodation with a familiar touch in a hip and interesting area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I chose Ponsonby House based on reviews I saw on this site. I will say Ponsonby house exceeded every expectation my partner and I had. Berndatte (the ownder) is extremely welcoming and hospitable. The room (we stayed in the earl grey room) was perfect, clean and very cozy. The breakfast was very nice and delicious. In the afternoon, we had afternoon tea which was accompanied by homemade scones (A week and a half later, I'm still thinking of them). We HIGHLY recommend Ponsonby house if travelling to Auckland. Our only regret is that we stayed for one night only. We definitely will stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in 2 different rooms during my visit- both very quiet, sunny and clean. Sally (the owner) is very friendly and provides great service and breakfast. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is very cozy and lovely with nice paintings and furniture. If you don't want to stay at business hotels and you are looking for a place which feels like home, this could be great for you and you can also go out and take a walk around the neighbourhood in ponsonby and relax. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadette W, Owner at Ponsonby House, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
I think this review is intended for the Great Ponsonby Art Hotel - the owner there is Sally (I'm Bernadette). Easy to confuse with Ponsonby House.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponsonby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby House

Address: 8 Douglas St | Ponsonby, Auckland 1021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love coming home to Ponsonby House, boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy the old-world charm of the house which is located in the heart of the thriving inner-city suburb of Ponsonby, only minutes from the centre of Auckland city. Enjoy the luxurious en-suited rooms and relax in the sumptuous, super-comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. With the cafes, restaurants, bars and boutiques on Ponsonby Rd only a minute’s walk away, everything is on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby House Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsonby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.