We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and miserable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Freddy's Ice House

Freddy's Ice House
201 Quay St | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
09 3776702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 nightlife in Auckland
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Come on in to Auckland’s only ice bar, where everything from the glassware to the bar is completely made of ice!Once we provide you with a warm jacket, gloves and footwear you will be ready to experience this amazing winter wonderland.Whether you want to bring the entire family for a one of a kind experience, to enjoy Freddy’s famous cocktails, mocktails or shots from the Jäger Ice Luge, Freddy’s caters to everyone.With the unique Kiwi themed carvings, the interactive ice games and sculptures you can touch, play with or even lick at your own peril, you are guaranteed to have the coolest experience ever.Come on in and enjoy the Freddy’s experience.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cold and miserable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were really looking forward to coming here and were extremely disappointed. The price is ridiculous for what you get, and since you cannot see inside before you pay in we couldn't see that there was no one else in the bar, providing no atmosphere. It was also quite boring as once the novelty of the ice wears off you have nothing to do and are too cold to stay and chat. Also really annoyed me that after paying so much money to get in, you weren't even allowed to take photos! you had to pay $8 for one which I thought really took the biscuit. I would not recommend, particularly to young couples like us, however i'm sure young children would enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    13
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“Look for Grab One deal online”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had mediocre expectations of this ice bar, having been to one before in Hong Kong. But the fact that we had superb customer service, and we were the only ones there, made it more special. The bartender (young, Samoan woman) was excellent – she was so personable and made our stay enjoyable.

We had two drinks each, and took in the ice sculpture art. It was also fun to smash the ice glass after each drink.

Keep your eyes open for Grab One coupons online. You’re saving about 50%. I likely would not have gone had it weren’t for this discount. [e.g., entry for two people, one drink each, for $29).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took our two boys in here during our trip to Auckland in April 2013. There was only us in there. The staff were great. The price is a bit steep really for what you get. The cocktails were very nice and its a novelty it all being ice.

The photos we got from there did come out really well and the staff did a bit of a deal for us due to issues with there card machine not working and us having to go hunting for a cashpoint....again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great experience however thought it was a little expensive but still a fun thing to do. Location was very good in amongst a lot of pubs and walking distance to plenty of restaurants

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but ...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had heard about this place while in NZ and wanted to go and have a look expecting the WOW factor. We paid $60 for 2 adults, they provided us with coats and gloves and when we walked in I did not get the WOW factor I was hoping for. It was very cold of course. The ice sculptures were great and a lot of work has gone into this place. I expected the place to be much bigger inside. It was quite small and I felt like I just walked into a large food refrigerator. It was also disappointing to know that we were not allowed to take our own pictures and that a basic standard pocket camera was used to take pictures of us by the bar man and although they looked ok on the computer monitor the prints were of very poor quality and at $8 each I thought this was a rip off. Be careful here. The free drink you get inside was also a very small one and the cocktails prices were expensive. Our bar tender didn't really seem interested in us either and kept going in and out doing other duties. We stayed in there for only about 15 minutes, enough time to have our drink and a few photos and smash our ice glasses at the end. Way overpriced attraction and won't recommed to friends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddy's Ice House also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Freddy's Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddy's Ice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Freddy's Ice House to your Saves list