We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Simply stated the Sofitel is a solid hotel. It is not amazing in any area but it will not disappoint, the location is within walking distance to all of the interesting locations in Auckland; ferry terminals, shopping, fish market and restaurants. My one major critique is the bar where the service, price and drink menu are poor, expensive and limited. Overall, good location, good value and worth a stay if going to Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    342
    107
    38
    17
See reviews for
197
807
59
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The service we received was first class. We were welcomed warmly with friendly staff everywhere. The room was just beautiful and as we'd asked for an upgrade we had lovely water views. the décor everywhere looked fantastic especially downstairs with the use of water, rocks and glass. We found our bed the most comfortable we've ever slept in and naturally had a great nights restful sleep. Because of the location we were able to walk around and not rely on taxis. Breakfast downstairs was just divine. We only had time for one night but wished we could stay longer. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

With relatively recent development of the Auckland Viaduct this has become a conveniently located hotel. Staff are attentive & helpful, the room was large enough and nicely appointed and it was easily the best hotel buffet breakfast I have had (& there have been countless!). It wasn't faultless - couple of minor but annoying maintenance issues in the room & we asked for extra champagne glasses & a bucket of ice to be delivered to our room which took forever to come (took a reminder call to reception for them to arrive & then only the ice turned up & we had to request the glasses again). Pay the extra to stay marina side. Small issues aside, this is my favourite Auckland city hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the city side rooms on the corner of Halsey St - they are above a set of traffic lights which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed two nights in January with our preschooler. The room was spacious for three. The bathroom was huge with an amazing bath. We enjoyed the pool & spa. The food in the bar & breakfast was great. We enjoyed being close to town and being able to walk around the boats etc

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Bonjour Gerwyn J,

Thank you for such amazing feedback & for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in January.

It is truly gratifying to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and how close we are to waterfront & harbour area. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a memorable experience in Lava Dining with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.
Kind Regards

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.