We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour to your Saves list
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A wonderful production crew put me up here Friday and Saturday night. My room was 321 which over looked the water feature in the middle of the hotel. The balcony was large but not private and there were no table or chairs to sit outside (perhaps because of winter but the weather was very mild).The marina view rooms would be stunning.
The room itself was fantastic with ceiling to floor window, coffee machine (good quality coffee and tea), and the most luxuriously soft bed I have ever slept in with towel swans and gorgeous green orchids! It smelt nice too. This hotel has thoughtful additional touches such as travel adaptor, cotton buds and pads, nail files (!) and hand held makeup mirror.
From what I gather you can have limited free internet (3GB?) in the lobby area, but additional and in room broadband is extra.
Valet parking is available at $35 a night/day. Parking across the road was $2 an hour I think or $1 an hour 8am-6pm Mon-Sat just down Gaunt st heading west (free Sun). There are also plenty of parking areas and buildings nearby.
You need your room key/card to operate the lifts.
Great location and professional, helpful staff. Thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    448
    144
    49
    21
See reviews for
234
1,030
81
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the entrance upon arrival to the same on departure, Sofitel Auckland provided a courteous, empathetic quality experience. The location is stunning yet peaceful, staff were relaxed, professional and welcoming. Nothing was any trouble and we felt respected and valued. Our Marina View room has an amazingly comfortable bed, the bathroom was all anyone culd ask for, and the views were outstanding. Staff in bar and restaurant again were professional and friendly, food quality excellent. Thanks for the fantastic stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are fans of Sofitel as we love their bedding. The ambience of the Viaduct Sofitel is soothing and modern yet cozy.

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the location. An easy walk to the viaduct restaurants, ferries and Main Street.

The only negative was when we checked in we were asked if we wanted to pay extra for a city view which we did only to find our king bed was now a queen. Quick call to reception and we were relocated to a lower floor, still with view but with the king bed. Actually was a much larger room which was preferable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I am very pleased to advise that this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. The hotel itself with it's fantastic location, decor and our room - not forgetting to mention the first class staff that were working there. The consierges in particular, were very kind and helpful.

Kind regards
Faye Rowe (Mrs)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunua, null, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A beautiful hotel with stunning decor and superb views. Everything was just perfect and the bottle of wine and chocolates for my husbands birthday a very touching addition !! The service from the staff and Kris (Consierge) was excellent - all were extremely friendly and helpful. A perfect score for a great team. We will be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: View of the marina !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.