We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour to your Saves list
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very pleased with the weekend I spent in the Sofitel in Auckland. The room was extremely roomy and comfortable. Food was generally very good. The staff were superb: charming, friendly and highly efficient. Location was very good.

The only minor drawback was that it *felt* expensive for what it was, although my friends in NZ assured me it wasn't really that expensive, it is just that the NZ dollar is very strong at the moment.

Will certainly stay there again if I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    376
    119
    43
    19
See reviews for
205
879
69
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Finishing up 2 weeks in New Zealand with 2 nights here and I may not want to leave. The service is top notch, the rooms are spacious with excellent linens. Location is close to restaurants and shopping. View of the harbor is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great stay at Sofitel, warm and professional welcome at the reception + escorted to the room. Room is large enough, huge windows overlooking the marina and offering lot of lights. Great room, all amenities you can expect from a 5 star hotel. Very clean also.
I had one diner at the Bar, get a glass of wine quickly but had to wait 25 minutes for a salad and a cheese plate. In the morning good quality of breakfast, just few things:
- I ordered tea when i seat but it cames very late, i was almost finished.
- After eaten fruits I stand up to go to the buffet help myself, when I came back the waiter (trainee) has already remove my cutlery and table cloth..
Fitness gym is really small.
IMy overall experience was great and staff is welcoming, I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We finished our NZ holiday with 3 nights at the Sofitel. We were very impressed by the quality of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the service we received. The location was quiet and we had harbour (marina) views with an excellent view of the 'Skytower'. We walked everywhere, as everything was close, shops, restaurants, ferries etc.

We ate at the restaurant on 2 occasions and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The food was excellent, as was the service. This was an excellent way to finish our holiday, relaxed and in great style. Fond memories indeed.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the harbour (marina) view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our room overlooked the harbour, and the view was exceptional especially at night with a view of the sky tower and the city lights.
Our room had everything you could possibly want. Unfortunately the spa was not working, but the pool was amazing.The cost was expensive, but well worth the experience.
I liken the occasion to a little taste of royalty for our entire stay.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the harbour is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a lovely lovely hotel. My partner and I would like to just fly back to auckland to stay at the sofitel for a week and lay in bed all day ordering room service. The beds are so comfy we are buying the mattress and padded layer for our home.

The hotel is brand new and it shows, everything about this hotel is lovely and we have stayed in a lot of sofitels around the world. The staff are very sweet and helpful, the pool is lovely the only problem is that the sauna and steam were not working and they are in the changing rooms and we like to sit together not apart.

The location is fantastic and the little breakfast bar on the harbour down stairs serves the most amazing food and the staff there are lovely.

Room Tip: eat breakfast at the cafe downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to hold our wedding and reception at the Sofitel as we were impressed by the surroundings and the ambience of the place. We had been looking for a venue that would accommodate a relatively small party (27) without losing atmosphere and feeling lost in the space. The Sofitel ended up fitting the bill perfectly. Our host for the wedding was Irene Noordhoek, who with her assistants, made the whole experience fantastic. There are gorgeous spots for photos, both inside and out, the place is chic and elegant, the food was delightful, the atmosphere was amazing and the room (we had a Junior Suite) was spot-on. It could not have been done any better. Attention to detail was what Irene and her team delivered in an accomplished and charming way. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue. The one downside for us was we can't afford to do it all over again so soon, but anniversaries are planned for the same room every year as long as the standard of this hotel remain!

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large and very sunny with a good outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.