We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to start our trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour to your Saves list
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Grand Bend, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great place to start our trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After traveling from Toronto & being a "little" jet lagged, it was nice to be taken care of when we arrived . Our room was switched so that we did not have to wait long & coffee was offered & much appreciated.
Very good location on the water with lots of fine restaurants & bars within easy walking distance in either direction. Lots of pretty walking paths & footbridge makes for a nice stoll.
The room was spacious & lovely with a tiny balcony overlooking the boats. The bar was friendly & inviting, especially our favourite bartender Ben.
The only negatives were the over powering scent in the lobby, which did not come from the lovely floral arrangements. And also the worst complaint, the cleanliness of our bathroom which was corrected, but maybe not as it should have been.
All in all a lovely spot non the less. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Bonjour RandiDl,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and it is always a pleasure to be able to recognise our team members for their excellent service. I apologise for the problem with the cleanliness of your bathroom and can assure you that this has been immediately addressed with the housekeeping team.

Sofitels worldwide are linked by French touches, a tribute to the traditions which are our heritage. The Sofitel scent immediately invokes a sense of place and emotion. I am sorry to hear that you found it overpowering and will review the settings to ensure that any required adjustments are made.

Thank you again for staying with us and for providing your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With regards,

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    379
    119
    43
    20
See reviews for
205
880
69
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel got upgraded to a nicer room with a marina view. Kids love the view but unfortunately the location is a bit far from downtown area. We have to walk 20 minutes to find a supermarket since we need to buy nappies. There are not so many restaurants close by. The hotel room service menu does not have many selections to offer apart from fancy elegant french cuisine which are a bit too fancy for the kids to eat.

However, overall staying was great and friendly staffs!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent base for a weekend stay. The hotel and rooms were sophisticated, clean and very comfortable. However; the concierge and bar staff could have taken a lead from reception who were proactive and very customer focused.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. It's in a great location within walking distance to main Auckland attractions and some fabulous nearby restaurants. Room was very comfy with great amenities. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Our room was attended to both morning and night! I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.