We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese in Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cocoro

cocoro
56a Brown Street | Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand
9-3600927
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: new restaurant
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have been to Cocoro many times and this is a clear stand out as the best Japanese in Auckland. After spending much time in Japan, I can say that the quality of food, flavours and ingredients are top notch. The attention to detail and amazing presentation of the dishes, is complimented by the attentive and professional staff. I would highly recommend the seafood course. Make sure you go on an empty stomach, with plenty of time as it is a dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Perfect is all I can say. From the time we stepped in through the doors,we were treated by experienced,delightful,friendly people. The calming atmosphere, the simplistic interior design with the large central dining table. Just superb.
Drinks were served while we waited for our guest to arrive. Just a casual lunch for three. I think we all could have stayed all day with the delicious array of the freshest ,modern Japanese fare. We decided to do their lunch, $30 special for two or more. But of course couldn't resist the fresh Bluff oysters done two ways natural and tempura as well. The special was fantastic for us as we just didn't want to make any decisions on what we wanted to eat.
They just kept coming, each dish was as exciting and delightful as the one before. Beautifully presented and exquisitely executed.
A hidden gem in the middle of Ponsonby. Just beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beautiful, clean and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch and had the set meals with a couple of extras. The food was beautifully presented. Everything tasted as good as it looked and I cannot wait to get the chance to return.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“World class in Auckland - outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This wasn't just good dining - it was one of the best meals I have ever experienced ANYWHERE in the world. I know that may seem like a big claim, but I eat out a lot and travel a lot for business between NZ, Australia and Asia, and this little (somewhat unassuming from the outside) place smashed my perceptions of Japanese food. Every dish just got better and more interesting than the last - a hard thing to do in a degustation menu. Sublime flavours, delightful touches, outstanding preparation – all cooked to perfection. Do the wine and saké matching with it - it'll come to $150 or so per person including the degustation - but so worth it. Outstanding. Well done to the Chef and his friendly team.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Tuesday night in Auckland and where to go for a special dinner? Cocoro! It is just the best!
Amazing food with brilliant service. Chef Makoto Tokuyama is a food master.
The degustation menu is a must, each course is delivered and explained to you in great detail.
The Ora King salmon with poached quail egg was just delicious. The lamb rack was incredible. Their wine list is excellent and if you like saki you'll be in heaven.
For a special meal anytime Cocoro is a must visit! Worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cocoro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to cocoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cocoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.