We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wineries with the best views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours

NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours
417A Tamaki Drive, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
+64 9 5751958
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Food & Drink in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NZWINEPRO™ are wine industry professionals offering personal wine making tours and scenic adventures for discerning enthusiasts. Owner & guide John McFarlane is a fifth generation New Zealander and has worked in hospitality and tourism for over 27 years. With 15 years experience working directly in the industry, you'll be guided beyond the cellar door with morning and afternoon options, stunning wines to taste, magnificent coastal scenery/regional parks, honey producers, cheese factory tastings, olive oils and delicious New Zealand cuisine. See how wine is made with private guided behind the scenes winemaking facility tours at Villa Maria Estate or Kumeu River Wines. Door to door service to Auckland's very best wineries and vineyards. Destinations include Kumeu, Huapai, Waimauku, Muriwai, Piha, Matakana, & Waiheke Island.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
stl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best wineries with the best views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Starting with a comfortable vehicle for just us and a knowledgeable guide in John, we visited wonderful wineries and beautiful vistas that we would have missed on our trip to Auckland. John's background in the wine and the restaurant industry added significantly to our tour. We tasted great pinot noir, syrah and chardonnay wines, sauvignon blanc that had spent some time in oak, had a delicious lunch, and visited the black sand beaches of Piha and the Waitakere Range. John has an engaging personality and shares so much about New Zealand. He adjust the tour to your time and interests. The personal tour is best way to see the area and NZWINEPRO is the best personal tour in Auckland.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Daniel,

Thanks for your great review. It was such a pleasure to spend the day with the three of you. I'm glad I could show you Piha and also take you to some different wineries. It just worked out perfectly that we also go to see Mt Eden the Volcano before it got too dark. I hope you enjoyed your short trip to New Zealand and that one day you might like to return. All the best and thanks again for your kind feedback. John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day at Waiheke Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I are wine lovers, and wanted to take advantage of a trip downunder to visit some of the local vineyards. We discovered NZ WinePro and John Macfarlane. John picked us up at our hotel, and we spent the entire day with him on a private tour. He is very knowledgable about New Zealand in general, and the growing wine business there. We spent the day on Waiheke Island tasting wine and olive oil, having a fabulous lunch at one of the vineyards, and learning about New Zealand. John was a delightful guide and companion. What a fabulous day!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Paula,
Thanks for your great review. The Waiheke Island Trip is very popular and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your day on the island. Having lived, visited and toured on the island for so long it's not difficult to find the very best places to visit. It's superb for wine and olive oil and the views are quite delightful. Again thanks for writing your great review and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your tour. John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Have a FANTASTIC Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had an individual wine tour, and found that the speed and activities of this tour were matched to our needs, not others in a group like our past experiences. John knows Aukland and all the wine makers in the area. He ziped through trafic like the pro that he is getting us to the air port at the end of our tour.

I recommend this tour to anyone who wants a special day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Susan,

Thanks for your excellent review. I'm so happy your tour and day were enjoyable. I try to be realistic with the inclusions and venue visitation times because I've done this for so long. And when it comes to International Airport drops, I know enough about Auckland traffic to realize that it pays to err on the side of caution. I've lived in Auckland for 24 years and it's taken that long to know the roads as well as I do. I enjoy tailoring a tour where sometimes it is required to execute a full day of wine, food and scenery and then deliver my clients to the international airport on the last day of their holiday. I love it , it's exciting and I'm blessed to do it. I really appreciate your review. I hope you'll stay in touch by liking my NZWINEPRO facebook page. Kindest regards John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pago Pago, American Samoa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic day with a wonderful guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are looking for a great tour of Waihiki THIS is the one to take. John is a fantastic guide and Dennis and I learned so much about Auckland and New Zealand in this one day. We had interesting discussions about the culture and politics of New Zealand. We were the only ones on the tour and we started our day being picked up at our hotel and were treated to a tour of Auckland. After a ferry ride to Waihiki Island, we visited Stoney Ridge Winery to taste some great wine, They were harvesting their olives and John quickly called Rangihoua Estates, one of the local olive oil processors, and we were able to have a side trip to their location and a taste of their olive oil (don't miss the herb spread!) After that, we went to Cable Bay Winery for more tasting and a fantastic lunch. We finished our tasting tour at Mudbrick Vineyards and then had a little extra time to wander through the shops in Oneroa. Our day ended with a ferry ride and a return to our hotel. All in all a fantastic day and I highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Anne and Dennis, Thanks for your wonderful review. Waiheke Island is such an adventure. I love going there, and I love taking people there. The wine and scenery really are superb and there's a sense of tranquility that make it a lovely place to drink some wine. Where we take lunch is world class, and as you could see.. what a location! The places I choose on the Waiheke island Tour are contrasting in style, but give a balanced overview of how varied the vineyards are. One thing's for sure.. the wine is pretty good. I hope you'll take some memories away and come back agAin to visit one day. My very best wishes. John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tour in NZ!!! A Must Do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

With only 2 days to spend in Auckland, the Vineyards Honey & Black Sand Beaches tour with NZWINEPRO was perfect. It included fantastic wines, beautiful landscapes and a delicious lunch. John, the owner and guide, was wonderful and extremely knowledgeable! We are on a two week vacation in Sydney, Auckland and Bora Bora, and though our vacation is not over, we are fairly confident that this will be the most amazing day of our trip. We would do it all over again if and when we return!!
Mario & Kelly
May 5, 2013

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Kelly & Mario,
'
Thanks for your amazing positive review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your day out. I totally enjoyed meeting you and taking lunch together. Thanks Mario for the Twitter follow.. I follow you back! I'll hope you'll follow my progress on my NZWINEPRO facbook page too. If you're back in New Zealand again, let me know.. I might be operating in Queenstown by then. All the best - John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.