We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavour filled and something for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Hanoi

Cafe Hanoi
Galway St & Commerce St | Britomart, Auckland, New Zealand
09-302-3478
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,180 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened 7 months ago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Flavour filled and something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit as a treat, timed arrival perfectly so no wait and wihin no time the restaurant was full. Service was great, food delightful and thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    175
    92
    30
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an incredibly popular restaurant, and with good reason. The menu is beautifully composed, offering dishes designed more for sharing, as opposed to eating on one's own. Portions are designed to focus the palette on taste sensations and quality ingredients, which is most appropriate for the style of dishes served. If you're a meat and two veggies New Zealander, this place isn't for you. If you appreciate cooking at its finest, and are there for the culinary experience, then it is.

We had to be wait-listed for a table, which took around an hour, but we were happy to explore the great Britomart restaurant and bar row, and enjoyed beautiful wine at Agent and Merchants. Cafe Hanoi called me when our table was ready.

Very efficiently and professionally run restaurant. Highly recommended. The desserts were stunning and French in style.This is a smart move of the cafe, given Asian desserts are not normally the strongest point of Asian cuisine, by European dining standards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had been wanting to eat here for a while as I had heard it was good but OMG it is Delicious.
The service is friendly and efficient. The servings are generous. The food is yummy and light so you are full but not heavy feeling.
I am definitely coming back to try more off the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average - not sure we'll be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have been before with not very adventurous friends. Decided to go back and choose the dishes we really wanted! Waited an hour for a table and then got offered a seat at the bar - I don't think so! After questioning this we got offered a table straight away (so why didn't we get the table to start with?). Food was good but service so so. It was a busy night but there were heaps of staff on - plates were left on our table and weren't offered the desert menu. In summary, food good, but not worth the hype!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Customer service to prefection like the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First time at this restaurant and what felt initially like a small and quite informal restaurant surprised me to be a virbrant popular place to eat with excellent food.
There is a great menu and each dish is served in its own individual way.
What impressed me the most was how attentive and relaxed the service was. The guy who served us was so relaxed and non pushy which made the evening more enjoyable.
We arrived early and there was a handful of people there. Within an hour it was packed with people eating at the bar. And though it was really busy and people waiting for tables, the waitor did not rush us along or make us feel pressured to pay the bill. This really made it for me as its a level of service you dont see very often.

Top marks to the tall, blonde male waitor. Excellent personality and manner which matches the great food and atmosphere.

Definately coming back soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hanoi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.