We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with outstanding service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Hanoi

Cafe Hanoi
Galway St & Commerce St | Britomart, Auckland, New Zealand
09-302-3478
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened 7 months ago
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great experience with outstanding service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were lucky to get a table, very busy but speedy and efficient service. Waitress talked us through menu and options, she was excellent. Water glasses replenished constantly, food very tasty and fresh. Would return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    104
    37
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cafe Hanoi experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The friendly service on arrival never stopped. We were attended to promptly and were given explanations of the menu. The food was so tasty, nicely presented and authentic. The place buzzes and we stood in a queue for a few short minutes. The decor is simple and pleasant. An experience we look forward to repeating, and one we have already recommended to friends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic share plate restaurant. Good selection, tasty food, generous portions & great service. I'd advise going early - we went at about 6pm and within 15 minutes the place was pretty full. The service was prompt but we didn't feel that we were being hurried. Didn't try a cocktail this time but the list looked impressive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good choice of dishes, very nice staff - only thing is you can't book and it's pretty popular. Very nicely presented food and good service. Great toilets!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have visited this restaurant twice now. The first time was six months ago when a friend suggested we go there as she had heard good reviews. It was a Friday night (we didn't have a booking) and we had to wait for a table which we were happy to do as the place was buzzing - they took our mobile number and we went off to another bar to await their call. We had to wait for around half an hour, so were definitely ready to eat when we returned. The food was fantastic. We ordered 4 dishes between the two of us to share and we were unable to finish them.
I returned to Auckland a month ago with my partner and as my first visit to Cafe Hanoi was such a pleasurable visit, I was determined to take him there as well. This time it was a week day lunchtime and we were seated straight away. Again the food was amazing. We order 5 dishes between us including the Savoy and Red Cabbage Salad, Poached Chicken & Papaya Salad and Wok Seared Squid. We enjoyed all of the dishes we had ordered. The Savoy & Red Cabbage Salad is divine! Good service, fantastic food & a bustling restaurant make for a great dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hanoi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.