We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner - worth going once!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vue Restaurant

Vue Restaurant
8 Customs St | Mercure Hotel Reataurant Top Floor, Auckland, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner - worth going once!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Service and food were both fantastic and faultless!

Char grilled rib eye ($37) was superb. We were given a complimentary serve of bread and dip and an apology that our meal was taking longer than usual. To be honest, we hadn't noticed any delay out of the ordinary.

There is a fantastic view from the restaurant out to the harbour.

I wouldn't dine here every night of a stay given the price, but definitely worth visiting once!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    8
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well done to the chefs, delicious food, thankyou spoilt for choice chose the King Fish yum yum

Already me tip ed the dislikes

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great views of the Harbour ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I enjoyed this meal quite a bit. I ordered the bread of the day which was good. I'm allergic to onion, so I couldn't eat the dip. The waitress went above and beyond to find me a replacement dip. They were out of the least pricey Shiraz ($9) so the only options were a $15 glass or a different varietal - bummer. I had their pasta which was actually quite good. All in all if say the food was a bit over priced, but worth it because you're paying for the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Good Night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We dined with friends, very sparse menu - but beautifully presented & cooked. The view is spectacular. The bar can be noisy especially on Friday night, & its right next door to restaurant. Ok once they all went home. Couldnt fault the service. But sweet dish served in old pickle jars !! Need a bit more class than that, for a pricey restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grab one deal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Quite expensive for what you get - won't be back anytime soon.
Tell the waiter to smile.
Nothing more to say

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Vue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vue Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.