We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fragrant curries with a warm welcome and excellent service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant

Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant
237 Parnell Road | Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9 358 3095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,284 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Auckland's latest taste sensation in a warm cosy atmosphere with great service. Whether for a romantic dinner, a catch up with friends or family or for business entertainment, we can cater for your needs. With seating capacity maxing out at around 40 to 50 (depending on seating arrangements), it is advisable to make a telephone reservation. The restaurant also offers great wines, cocktails, beers and a nice selection of premium teas. We also have a nice outdoor area.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful fragrant curries with a warm welcome and excellent service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We came here on a Wednesday night greeted with a warm smile in a warm cosy and attractive Thai restaurant. The staff couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs and the food was authentic fresh as delicious. Would really recommend look out for the silver elephant hidden down a street on Parnell road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    45
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had red curry and green curry, both of them are great! It's a very nice place to visit for lunch, coz it's not that expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service, best Thai ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Tucked away down a short lane, this restaurant impressed right from walking in the door. I was with two other work colleagues. We were greeted with a friendly smile, our coats taken and hung out of the way. Staff were so lovely, genuine, friendly and helpful. They were knowledgable about their menu, including wine. Then the food came out, and wow! So fresh and tasty, i really couldn't fault any of the dishes. We had fresh and fried spring rolls, a beautifully fragrant duck entree, the greenest chicken curry i have ever seen, crispy duck, and a beautiful peanut lamb dish. Such a lovely evening, thank you Blue Elephant, if i ever return to Auckland you will be my first stop!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

So incredibly good! Redefined Thai food for both my wife and I, and we were not Thai rookies. Amazing lamb curry, fabulous pineapple fried rice! If you're in Auckland, make sure you eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Thai food outside Thailand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Went there for dinner in March and were pleasently surprised.

Very nice (and very Thai) menu friendly staff.

We had the fresh spring rolls and the prawn cakes for starters and the salmon and chef special chicken for main. All was very well prepared - actually this may be the best Thai food we have had outside Thailand.

As mentioned the staff was very friendly and attentive.
Had a little chat with one of the ladies. I mentioned that we had been to Thailand 8-10 times and asked her from where she came. She was quite sure that I did not know the city Khorat but I then could inform her that we knew this city in the Isan-area as we had been there twice. What a small world we are living in!

Actually we found the food and service so great that we go back for our last dinner in NZ on our return to Auckland.

If you like Thai food - do not hesitate but GO THERE.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.