We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foodstore

The Foodstore
Market Square | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland, New Zealand
09 377 0125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“What a great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We wandered into Foodstore while wandering along the Auckland waterfront on a Sunday Morning. It had a great ambience with all of the cooking going on in front of you as the kitchen area is very open and you can wander up and watch what is going on or watch the TV up on the wall as it is all captured on their in house closed circuit TV. Staff are fast and friendly and the selection is not large as they have seemed to have concentrated on quality. I had a smoked fish omelette and my wife a Salmon and scrambled egg. We shared each others meal and both dishes were delightful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    74
    29
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lacking the X Factor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went here yesterday with a group of friends for dinner. While the restaurant has a nice buzz to it, this makes it difficult to talk to your companions if there are more than about 4 of you. A round table would have been better than a long narrow table. I was disappointed to find that lots of things were not available - oysters, salmon, chicken, rocket salad. That seems like a lot of things, most of which are not difficult to come by. Anyway, I decided on the scallops which were strange as they were listed as $6 each. I therefore thought I'd have 3 for $18. The waiter seemed confused by this but then not as confused as the customers perhaps. Turns out the $6 portion includes 2 scallops but they are literally teeny tiny. The main sized venison was also not generous. This seemed to be a consistent complaint - nice food but small portions, especially considering the price. Our group did enjoy the fish and chips which were really nicely presented in a folded box made of newspaper. Other hits included the veggie options - halloumi and gnocchi which surprisingly seemed the most generous of the dishes. The friend who order steak was disappointed it only came as medium rare or medium well done. Surely they can cook it any way?

So, all in all, nice enough but nothing special compared to Soul across the harbour. It was also quite pricey and the food preparation on the TV was all a bit gimmicky really and not that exciting to watch. Would I come here again? Yes, the food was good and for a smaller lunch group I think it would be nice as the setting is so fantastic. Probably really a 3.5 stars but Trip Advisor doesn't do halves and I don't think I can justify a 4

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not great food was expensive and tastless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Food lacked flavour and was tasteless waitress we had was hopeless told me to share my husbands chips rather than order some and then told somebody else to finish my meal when I hadn't . Expensive for what it is

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Met a friend from overseas at the Foodstore for lunch. It was a buzzy environment with lots of interesting things going on. The food was exquisite and service impeccable. My friend is a real "foodie" and thoroughly enjoyed watching the food being prepared. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good concept but misses on food flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate here recently as part of a conference dinner. The layout is interesting, nice bar area and good for meeting for drinks, has a balcony area ( we didn't try this aw very wet evening) and then large dining tables adjacent to an open plan kitchen. The point of difference is thatguests can watch food preparation in the kitchen or on overhead TV screens. in fact we didn't and I wonder how important this is.
The service even with a large group, was excellent and pleasant. The food however was very slow to come out and somehow, although looking interesting, missed out on flavor. We had a variety of dishes between out group of five and this was the universal impression.
So, good on ambience and service, ( 4-5 star) less memorable in terms of food.
A recent large group dinner at Sails was much better in terms of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foodstore also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Foodstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foodstore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.