We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Me Ne Frego

Me Ne Frego
301 Manukau Road | Epsom, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,306 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Lovely unique, quirky little restaurant. Chef/owner. Established several years. Open 365 days per year. Dinners only.
Restaurant details
Description: Lovely unique, quirky little restaurant. Chef/owner. Established several years. Open 365 days per year. Dinners only.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were delighted to find an authentic Italian restaurant in New Zealand, after quite a number of disappointing attempts. The setting is simple and reminded us of some of the trattorias we frequented years ago in Rome. We began the meal with bruschetta which was as good as we have enjoyed. This was followed by some delicious scampi which were both fresh and very large. While not certain, the spaghetti tasted homemade and the octopus tender. We found the half liter of house Montepulciano basic but of good value. There is a nice selection of Italian wines which were well priced. The service was prompt and courteous. Will definitely return if back in Auckland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“People are strange”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Really, reading the reviews not just of this place but many others one wonders if folk really do get out much. I keep reading comments like "short menu" and the "mash potato was underwhelming" and such like. Me no frego has quite a long menu with at least 20 choices for main (short means 5) and potato clearly from a packet. Come on guys. Anyway this is a decent local italian family restaurant and is none the worse for that with acceptable home style cooking. Excellent value for money, reasonable food and inexpensive but quality wine list. Restaurants please stop just stocking acidic white and green reds from NZ, it really is very poor. If me no frego can sell wine from across the world for $27 a bottle so can you!
Downsides, the view of the kitchen was that of a morgue, so quiet, its a little grubby, I cant read the menu in the available light and a little more depth of flavour would not have gone amiss but for the price you cant really argue. I have spent time on and off in Italy and this place would fit in fine. I know kiwis revel in it but please no beetroot, nobody else gets it especially europeans.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“One of the best Italian in Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Beef cheeks and freshly made ravioli with pumpking and salvia. Fresh ingredients and authentic flavours without the cheating of cream or over buttery sauces.Cooked with passion and without compromise.
Only the potato mash was a little underwhelming otherwise the rating would have been 5 stars. I will surely go back and I cant wait to try the other appetizing dishes in the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty food in a small friendly hole in the wall.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

After a long day working I just wanted to get a good meal, walking distance from where I was staying. What a find! It's small and a little noisy but so nice. Menu is hand written as is the wine list.My main course of beef cheeks was really good and served with a very nice side salad of greens and beetroot. It's very popular by the number of people who seemed to know the staff. I highly recommend this place for a great authentic Italian meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The food is so good and authentic. Not your typical Italian restaurant with creamy pasta. The decoration is a bit quirky and home like. I highly recommend this place as the food is amazing. Been here 4 times already.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me Ne Frego also viewed

 

Been to Me Ne Frego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Me Ne Frego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.