We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clare Inn

Clare Inn
274-278 Dominion Rd | Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand
(09) 623-8233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European, Irish, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Description: The Clare Inn is a great example of an Irish bar; it has a solid Irish community brimming with real craic, full of atmosphere & a genuine welcome. It is warm & relaxed with loads of room to accommodate, a real slice of Ireland with lots of laughter a family focus. Clare-inn-pics-005.Gif The Clare serves excellent pub food and boasts an extensive menu. We are child friendly until 7.30Pm.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great pub and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Popped in here recently, great service and range of beers, the bar food was good and the restaurant food was equally pleasing.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Food is fantastic but if you come down for pint any time of day the staff will always welcome you (Louise especially) The best Irish bar in NZ I think.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Excellent food and trad music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited here as saw place on way out to airport
Great food at good prices
Very welcoming Irish owners
Excellent trad music session on a mon night
Highly recommend this one as an authentic Irish bar in auckland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This pub is a clear example of this. Irish pub (no issues with that) = Restaurant quality food!
We went for dinner as a family on our second last night in Auckland (awesome having an Irish brother in law who takes you to some of THE best places) - we had the lamb and the beef wellington - both award winning dishes. AH-MAZING. The taste matched the anticipation of seeing the presentation of the dishes (I can see some people have loaded photos of such). Test your luck at places like this and you will not be dissapointed. Amazing food and great service from all :) We sat up stairs on the outside terrace - not much to look at but nice to sit outside for once.
Prices were pretty good too! Roughly $20-30 a meal, which to be fair is pretty common and reasonable
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've been to the Clare Inn several times for a weekend lunch and have always enjoyed the experience. We've found the service great, food wonderful and reasonably priced. Last time I had the lamb and partner had the duck. Both were cooked beautifully, flavours fantastic, can only recommend this place to all. All our experiences of eating here have been positive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clare Inn also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Clare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clare Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.