We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much mixed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DeBretts Kitchen

DeBretts Kitchen
3b O'Connell Street | Hotel DeBrett, Auckland 1140, New Zealand
64 9 969 1545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,179 restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $14 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The iconic Hotel DeBrett is nestled in the heart of Auckland city, at the crossroads of Shortland Street’s business and High Street’s fashion precincts, just two short blocks from the waterfront.Our 25 rooms and suites are individually decorated in a mid-century modern style, show-casing contemporary New Zealand arts and crafts, overlaid with 21st century comforts. At the core of the hotel we have created a glass roofed atrium and courtyard, which provide ambient meeting spots for guests and visitors, with a casual gourmet restaurant “kitchen” at one end, and the legendary art deco “House Bar” at the other. Tucked off to the side, exclusively for house guests, is a drawing room stocked with a selection of our own art, books, music and movies. Experience a mix of calm and bustle in central Auckland, and share our special home away from home, with personal yet professional service. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel DeBrett.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“too much mixed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

had dinner at the Kitchen, found the wine list fantastic, but the food very disappointing, too many ingredients mixed too messy on the plate and a bit overpriced. The bread was dry and almost got stuck in my throat, better have plenty of water to make it go down. would not go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    76
    36
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely lovcely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Four of us had a very pleasant evening at The Kitchen recently inside the Hotel DeBrett. We had the the early menu being part of the Auckland Little City restaurant month. We all decided to have the 3 courses $55:00 p/head and found the food to be absolute perfection. Could not faulty anything. The waitress was lovely, the ambience was great and it was so nice to actually be able to talk without a lot of background noise and also not to be able to hear other customers conversations. It was a treat and a pleasure to come here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“May be a limited menu but food was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Dined with another couple earlier this month.

The menu may be limiting but we were all happy with the quality of the meal. service was great and no long waits. The desert was interesting - ordered the "tiramisu" and it was served all separate on the plate - quite a novelty but actually worked and was great fund mixing different components and sampling them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Four of us had lunch in this pleasant, modern restaurant. The lunch menu is very limited and the portions quite small. The food was very nicely prepared and not expensive. All in all a good place for a nice quick and tasty lunch. To put it in context, one of our group compared it to a good lunch on a business class flight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We went to Kitchen twice during a recent stay in Auckland. The venue is gorgeous - great ambience. We had great service on both occasions - friendly and knowledgable. The fresh baked breads served with Hawkes Bay olive oil were great, particularly the onion bread. Our entrees were also nice, with great use of local ingredients. The only thing that let it down was there were too many elements in each dish. It felt like it was trying to be all things to all. Despite that, we would definitely recommend this restaurant (and check out Hotel De Brett's Corner Bar too).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeBretts Kitchen also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to DeBretts Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeBretts Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.