We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar

Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar
31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
09 366 7001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,180 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you're after quality food, good range of beverages and staff who are nothing less than passionate about Mexican food, than this is the place to come to. Simple, yet elegant, food is served fresh, without delay. Little Mexico never lets you down, A++

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    57
    22
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“MÉXICO PEQUEÑO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

In the interest of full disclosure, I have to tell you my wife is Mexican. I have lived in Mexico. Darkening the door of a Mexican restaurant is, for us, usually fraught with impending disappointment. That said, I’ve sampled “Mexican” food in places as far-flung as Nepal and Pakistan. Though not bad, the food we usually find in these locations is, well, not Mexican. Auckland’s Little Mexico Cantina and Tequila Bar is no different.

It was a fine summer evening, our second in Auckland, and we were tired from a full day of touristing. As a result, we were looking for something close to our hotel. We were bound for a recommended seafood restaurant but found it closed. Little Mexico was our backup.

We passed the restaurant several times during the day, checked out the menu and figured we could breeze in for a quick dinner. When we arrived, our spirits were lifted upon seeing the crowd of locals spilling out onto the street from Little Mexico. On this evening, it was impossible to get a table in the restaurant without a reservation so we parked ourselves at a high-top table in the bar.

Our Spanish-speaking waitress (Argentina, not Mexico) took our order for fajitas (spicy please), but when my wife found the restaurant was out of the Bohemia obscura shown on the menu, we settled for a bottle of wine.

We were warned that the fajitas were not that much food, but elected to share a single order nonetheless. When the dish arrived, it turned out to be more than enough for one, sufficient for two – a good bargain.

As we’ve come to expect, our meal was not really Mexican food. The fajitas were spicy, as requested, but the heat was turned up by the unmistakable flavor of a hot sauce such as El Tapatío. Despite this, we enjoyed the food and the energetic atmosphere of the Little Mexico Cantina and Tequila Bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sangria is a must and the food was great too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We love a good mexican meal and always hunt out Mexican Restaurants wherever we travel. Cantina's did not disappoint. The variety of food was great, prices reasonable and the meals large and very tasty - only a small restaurant to would recommend booking as it was a busy little place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a very good meal here. I had enchiladas and hubby had tacos. The flavours were great. Service was fast and staff were friendly. We thought it was very expensive, but then we found Auckland as a whole very expensive for eating out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best cocktails in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Without a doubt Jose at Little Mexico makes the tastiest and most authentic Margarita & Daiquiri's in Auckland. My gf and I went there last night and were not dissapointed. We each had a frozen Mango Margarita and a passionfruit Daiquiri which were both a sorbet texture. No need for desset as this was delectable enough.

My gf just said toi me now as we lie in bed and write this that she wants another one of the tasty Daiquiri's now!!..lol..It's 11am in the moring.

We'll be back

Thanks Jose and the Little Mexico staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.