We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist visit while in Auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Mountain

Crystal Mountain
80 Candia Road Swanson West | West Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9 833 5033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 186 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crystal Mountain is West Auckland's Premier Tourist Attraction loaded with fun activities and much to see and do.This exciting purpose built gallery houses New Zealand’s largest selection of Crystals and Minerals from around the world and has been specifically built for easy access for visitors of all ages, regardless of physical ability and will delight old and young alike with many rare and beautiful specimens are available both on exhibit and for sale, Travel by elevator to the heart of Crystal Mountain to our world class Crystal Mine Museum where you will find a world class exhibition, of rare and exquisite crystals and minerals directly imported and sourced from mines around the world & beyond, an educational experience that will delight all ages.Besides our world class collection of crystals and minerals, Crystal Mountain also offers Beautiful semi-precious gifts and souvenirs you will treasure, at realistic prices. A wonderful collection is available for sale - many of which have been designed by our own company.Even the most passionate collectors will find something special to add to their natural or polished specimen collection. A Large selection of semi-precious stone pendants, bead necklaces and bracelets, unique designs of sterling silver pendants, rings, bracelets, earrings etc…Set with quality faceted semi-precious gems and cabochons are also available.Fabulous food is another specialty at Crystal Mountain treat yourself to a delicious café lunch & Espresso coffee at Café on the Rock while the kids journey through the Exotic Animal Park on the Crystal Mountain Express train, Feed the friendly animals, Pan for Crystals, Bungy jump on the bungy tramp, have a Pony ride or ride on the new state of the art Gonzales Roller Coaster recently imported from Italy.Set on 40 acres, in the foothills of the Waitakere Ranges it is a peaceful oasis just 20 km from Auckland C.B.D.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tourist visit while in Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pre planned visit to Crystal Mountain just to shop, and a meal at the cafe. Enjoyed the shop and spent well, lunch was basic but very nice. There are fees for some parts if you wanted to do them, ie museum and rides etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    22
    13
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over priced and very run down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Was way over priced for the 5 animals,short train ride, 3mins on a trap and small roller-coaster. The grounds are a total mess with plant waist everywhere and very unattractive. After our visit to Butterfly creek which was AMANZING i found this very disappointing. The kids loved the roller-coaster and i will say the crystals were amazing. They really need to review there prices. Don't go expecting a lot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An interesting place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I recently visited with a 96 year old friend who is in a wheelchair. We enjoyed looking at the sparkling crystals displayed in the shop - though found one of the salespeople rather pushy. We also had lunch at the adjoining coffee shop and watched chickens and a peacock through the full length windows.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very expensive activity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The actual crystal shop is excellent but the service was shocking.
The kids activities are very over-priced, it would work out $20 just for one child to have a roller-coaster ride. The girl in the ticket booth was very impatient and didn't really help us work out the best deal, she just continued to talk to another employee?? I used to bring my children alot prior to moving out of Auckland and this time bought visitors with me and it was very disappointing to see how the prices have risen so much and the service level has dropped. On a good note the food was nice and value for money.. and i do like my necklace and my daughters crystal we bought, it just would have been nice to be thanked for my $30 purchase.
Value for money with the panning for crystals though - this the kids enjoyed instead of any of the activities.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food, Cafe and Shop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The food is alright but mostly comes out dry or overcooked. The coffee is always bitter. I havent been there since they bought the rollercoaster and other activities in, but before this when it was just the farm we loved that part of it. The shop staff werent very nice when I went in and asked for what crystals are healing they told me that GOD heals everything and crystals are just to look at

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Mountain also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.