We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes for us, definitely recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   19 - 23 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes for us, definitely recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Excellent customer service from intial telephone request to checkout. Easy walking distance to Vecta Arena, Countdown, Britimart etc. Bus right outside the door. Recommend you book through reception for taxi, particularly to airport, as much better rates. Staff happy to help with bus timetables, directions etc Congrats Waldorf, keep it up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    334
    88
    25
    12
See reviews for
243
285
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Everyone has said positive things about this place and they are all true! The location is excellent and the apartments are bordering on luxurious. They are new so will no doubt take some wear in time but for now they are great.

Part of it was built from a multi-story car park and the reception and corridors of our block showed it. Indeed, we wondered what we had let ourselves in for but once we opened our apartment door - WOW!

We would certainly go back again./

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Celestion Waldorf Apartments Hotel. Following the advice of other positive reviews on tripadvisor.com I wanted to see if the hotel lived up to its reputation.
When my partner and I arrived, it was around 10am and there was a large group checking out. Because we had not already booked a room we were told to come back around 2pm. That was okay as I had anticipated not being able to get a room straight away. We mentioned the $120 rate we had seen on their website and they said we could pay that amount if we booked a room online, but otherwise would have to pay $134 plus $15 parking.
So later on we returned to book in. For some reason they wanted to be paid straight away and took my partner's credit card details. We could not fully understand why this was necessary, something to do with a $100 bond???
The parking was very cramped and we had to originally park around the block as there was no parking outside the hotel (bus lane).
There was no information given about the swimming pool or gym, which I thought I had seen on their website. We were not shown to our hotel room.
The room itself was pretty amazing for a one bedroom apartment. It was so clean, trendy and had almost everything you would want in an apartment. I wanted to stay there forever. There was actually even another room that had a sofa and a good sized desk. It opened onto a small deck. The bed was actually two single beds pushed together which was great. The shower pressure was great. Interestingly though they did not provide shampoo or conditioner but had an actual hand soap dispenser in the shower and next to the sink. Overall the room was great and the carpet was still quite soft. I actually washed the dishes at one point then realised there was an actual dishwasher already there.
The only reservations we had were 1) the tv was visible from the bed but it was difficult to operate the remote from so far away and 2) there must have been some kind of extractor fan outside our room because we could hear this noise the whole night and 3) because the lights, heating and lifts are activated by the key card I had to ask for another one. They should have given us both a card each.
Ideally I would like to see more improvement on customer service as in taking us to the room and give us more information about their facilities. But I realise this kind of CS can be difficult to find for this price range.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Normally stay at another waterfront location in Auckland, Found these apartments via a travel agent our our soccer group visit to Auckland First thing that strikes you on entering is the unique design of the recption & lobby areas.fabulous! Very central yet quiet apartment just right outside the apartment there was a good selection of reasonably priced restaurants nad about 300 m a 24 hours a day supermarket - . We Expected some noise because of our group stay in the hotel but slept with the sliding doors open & never heard a sound! Highly recommended, very modern & spacious 2 bedroom apartment that 4 of us shared for the soccer compettions. Great quailty in a great Auckland location

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Celestion Auckland is a good bargain for quality accommodation in Auckland. We got a clean, well-decorated modern 2 bedroom hotel apartment within easy walking distance to central Auckland. Considering we paid about the same amount of money to stay at older, smaller and run-down properties during our travels throughout the North Island NZ, we felt like we have a bargain. the front desk staff were very good and were perfectly helpful. There's unique design of the lobby .It was pity that the restaurant will be opened only next month, but there were a lot of good restaurants within 200 m from the hotel.we were talking to some of the longer-term residents who love thew place. Great location near the City Center and various water front locations.Great large supermarket which operates 24 hours a day-great place to stay in Auckland

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed for three nights at the Celestion Waldorf in Auckland in a two bedroom executive suite. The location is excellent and easy to find using public transport as well as railway station which was 5 minutes walk from the hotel.Regardless of its central location we have a very quite apartment on the eleventh floor. .We like the factthat you can open the windows and do not have to use the aircom..The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly which made the stay with Waldorf very enjoyable. We would recommend it to anyone who seek comfrtable Auckland accommodation. The views of the city were excellent and some harbour views were available as well. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here. We weren't disappointed. Car park was an extra $15 dollars a night - I think the internet rate was only $20 for 5 days (2 GB limit I recall?). Room on the 14th floor was very comfortable, great sofas, big balcony, lots of space. Couple of niggles like a lightbulb out in the lamp and we had to move the sofas to find something and noticed they had not vacuumed under there for a while... It cost around $160 for a 2-bed apartment. Would definitely recommend. Remember no toiletries like shampoo are provided so bring your own. The weekly rates seem very reasonable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celestion, Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
All our hotel apartments include high quality toiletries like shampoo and soap. They are provided by two quality dispenser units which are located in the bathroom!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.