We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet break in busy central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 23 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
HONGKONG
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Quiet break in busy central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked this hotel in reasonable price from attractive photos from website, friendly staffs from front desk, room spacious with good window view, apartment neat and tidy with standard facilities, if provide room cleaning will be perfect, usually guests no meaning to request a full room service, but clear rubbish everyday seems reasonable. Good indian restaurant -- little india -- provide tasty meal, they save our life in few empty evenings. Location of apartment very handy but not disturbed by crowded, few mins walking distance to bus stops and ferry pier. This apartment will be recommended to my friends and family.

Room Tip: upper floor with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear finejenny,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future & have high regard for recommending us to your friends & family.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    304
    70
    22
    12
See reviews for
216
259
29
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrived on a flight after midnight...this was no problem at all for checking in and reception accepted our rather reduced cognitive abilities noting the hour! Our room was set up with the heating already on, which noting the temperature outside was a welcome relief. We showered and then crashed into bed, no waiting for the heat to come through, no waiting for electric blankets to heat up, such a joy. Full size dining table and full lounge. The bathroom was large which with a family of 4 was great, we could all be in there cleaning our teeth and not get in one another's way. Kitchen had everything we needed and the fridge was large so could accommodate all that one might buy at the Countdown (grocery store) directly over the road, what a fantastic location to be able to grab and go. Very close to the dock area for a day trip to Devonport by ferry. Our car pick up (Europcar) a 2 minute walk away. The motel kept our luggage while we collected the car. With a loading bay next to the motel (their garage driveway), we were loaded and on our way very quickly. $50 holding deposit did take 2 days to be reversed so I was glad that I used a card that I didn't need to otherwise transact on during our holiday. In every other way, highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were in room 407 (2 bdrm) which was at the back of the hotel so on a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Louby 76,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our guest service, location & amenities we have to offer. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. I am at a loss to explain why some banks take 2 days to release the pre-auth taken on arrival, it is a frustration for all.
We look forward to having another opportunity to have you as our guest!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was great…lots of room for a family of four, with all the modern conveniences of home. We enjoyed quality sleep from the quiet 9th floor location, walked everywhere once we'd parked in the carpark close by (nice cheap rate) and really don't have anything to complain about at all! One comment I would make about the receptionist who welcomed us: she didn't look up at me until I'd been standing at the desk for a couple of minutes, she spoke to me while looking at her computer, before she looked at me…I thought this was slightly rude. However this wasn't experienced with any of the other desk staff, who were charming. I would have liked our room to be lightly cleaned after the first night, bed made etc, but as this was an apartment realized that maybe this was not included in the service. We stayed 2 nights. Would definitely book here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. We had a glimpse of a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Lisa F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Celestion. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value & location. I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention how you were acknowledged at reception which I have addressed with the staff member concerned.We look forward to seeing you again in the near future where you will have a much better experience on arrival.

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Gap
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This apartment complex is modern, well maintained and central to Auckland city.
It has some car parks (at a fee) but is so close to everything a car is not needed.
Ultra modern apliances, clean, and suprisingly quiet for inner city location. Huge balcony!
Helpful staff.

Room Tip: We chose 2 bedroom. Large living area and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Joyce S,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms. We are pleased that our staff were helpful & can only agree that the location does not warrant a car as everything is so accessible. We hope to see you again soon.

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My companion was unable to stay; room effected her allergies and it was necessary to book another stay at the Pullman. We were unable to make use of the facilities. The gentleman at the front desk was most helpful.

Room Tip: Unable to truly rate; we didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear soobymack,

We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff are able to recommend restaurants & good services to our guests

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in a 2-bedroom spacious apartment with my family and love the location. Our apartment was on a high floor and was quiet, hence had a good night’s sleep. The apartment has a living room with a TV, and a fully equipped kitchen with tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom is large, beds are clean and comfortable. Downside is that there is no housekeeping for stays less than a week. There is no free wifi and no onsite parking. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The apartment is close to the shopping area with several eateries and two mini marts close by. An Indian restaurant is right below the hotel and food can be delivered to your apartment. If you love Chinese food, there are a few across the road , even a dim sum restaurant. A few doors away from the hotel is a cafe serving Malaysian food (satay included). Be forewarned though, you may be turned off by the dingy looking small cafe. I ordered takeaway Fish Ball vermicelli noodle and found it was not too bad. The hotel is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jazabelle,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our location & surrounding eateries. Parking onsite is limited & must be booked at the time of the booking, alternatively we also have many off site spaces available to provide the services that our guests expect. Our commitment to investing in our property will continue as we look at internet options for Celestion. I look forward to having another opportunity to have you as our guest!
My kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good appartment have everything you need, located close to vector arena. About a 15 min walk to sky city. Annoying that there is only one elevator for each tower. I would stay here again. Downfall I would have been over charged if I didn't check my booking. There is no free wifi anymore

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear ChrisWilson

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value & location. Thank you for bringing to my attention the overcharge as it allows us to implement changes.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

My kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.