We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location for Vector Arena” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average hotel in good location for Vector Arena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated for an easy stroll to Vector Arena but also convenient to Queen St etc. Room was fine - plenty big enough but needed basic maintenance...towel rail not screwed on, tap loose, no soap in shower etc. Bit of a let down for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    386
    106
    32
    14
See reviews for
290
321
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our two kids and I really loved our two-bedroom suite, with a kitchenette, living room, dining area and balcony. It's right around the corner from the trendy Britomart area and we were able to walk to the ferry and sky tower in no time. The staff were very friendly and the laundry facilities were clean and convenient. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our family - 2 adults, 2 middle school children - stayed here for 2 nights in early December, 2012. Location is very close to the waterfront with all of the restaurants, shops, sights, etc. Rooms were decent size. Wifi is extra. Staff was friendly and helpful. Having a small kitchen unit in the room is very helpful although we had to ask for a coffee press (not provided in the room). Laundry facility on premises. We got a good deal by cashing in mileage credits. Waldorf has 7 properties in the vicinity, so be sure your shuttle / taxi has the correct name and address. Ours dropped us off at the one 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor six and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbydelaZouch
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The initial impression of the Celestion (dark reception area, dingy landing areas etc ) belies the spacious and pleasant apartments. Well located and an easy walk to the centre of the city, the waterfront and harbour area and with a large supermarket nearby. Despite the surrounding area being fairly busy our apartment (10th floor) was surprisingly quiet.
The apartment was spacious (we were given an upgrade) with a range of good facilites inc a dishwasher and the compext boasted a sizeable guest laundry - very helpful for travellers such as ourselves ! Staff were very helpful and as mentioned in a previous review, if travelling to the airport, ask them to source a taxi as they have some sort of arrangement with a local company
Overall a good place to stay at very reasonable weekend rates

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I checked in with a large group. They didn't honor any of our request. They mis calculated things and had to charge my credit card four times. I asked for for an extended check out for 1.5 hours and they said that they would have to charge us $20.00 per room. Keep in mind that our group just spent $10,000 NZD.

The people at the desk are nice. Laundry is $10.00 for a wash and fold for a bag of laundry.

But the overall service to entice large groups to come here are not here. This hotel is modernish and clean. Their midweek cleaning service (only one cleaning in a whole week) was done satisfactorily, however there is plenty of room to improve upon this service as well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Celestion Waldorf is located close to the harbor area of Auckland. Hotel is quiet even though it's in a busy area. Apartment is roomy and had everything we needed for our stay. Easy to walk to supermarket and has a great Indian restaurant on the ground floor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Excellent location, but damn noisey on the lower floors, keep the balcony doors closed and use the ac. Aside from that, we scored a two bedroom unit at a very reasonable price, actually didn't use the middle room (no windows) the unit is large and spacious, though the colour scheme could be a bit brighter, everything looked dull and drab. Reception was great, we arrived before 10 am and after several phone calls we were allowed to take our room.
Great service, here's a good tip, if you are headed to the airport, the hotel has some sort of an arrangement whereas you can take a taxi direct for only $35., excellent deal. Wash machines and dryers are available for a total of $6. (don't need detergent). Supermarket (Countdown) is about two blocks away, buy your booze there, excellent value. Just across the street from Countdown we decided on pizza (rare occasion) and we were only charged $4.50 corkage for up to 3 bottles, actually the food wasn't bad, mainly students and office workers and also there is genuine Japanese Sushi diner just outside the hotel to the left, not bad.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and try for a higher room away from the traffice noise, expecially if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.