We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   19 - 23 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here for 12 days while getting around NZ. Plane came in at 6:30 am, and they let me check into the room. This was a blessing since I had been traveling 19 hours. So appreciated that. Originally, I was only going to stay there for 4 days but kept extneding it since it met our needs. They were very accomodating. Good Indian restaraunt on site. Close to a 24 hour Countdown grocery, which worked out very well since there was a kitchen in the room Had a good view of the harbor, and I loved sitting out on the balcony every morning with my coffee and watching the sun rise and the city come to life.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    335
    89
    25
    12
See reviews for
244
286
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Safe, elegant, plush, well equipped, good for a family with kids, slightly away from the main part of the city but if are ready to walk for 5-7 minutes from the hotel to the bus stop (even when you are tired), it is a good place. Has a convenience store in front of it. Has an Indian restaurant at the ground floor. Staff is excellent and helpful. Overall, there is nothing to complain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Staff at this hotel were very friendly. The apartment was brand new, big, clean and nicely decorated. It is located in the centre of Auckland and easy to find dinner and breakfast close by. The hotel has car parking facilities on its premises for a reasonable NZ20.- fee.
I highly recommend this accommodation for fellow travellers as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Good apartment hotel, with good furnishings and - importantly - excellent beds. Recommended.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The space, kitchette and dining area make an ideal starting hotel for helping to sit out the jet lag. We were upgraded on arrival to a 2 bed apartment. Spotlessly clean, with all the amenities we wanted, the apartments were ideally located for us - a very pleasant 10 minute stroll to the sky tower, and just over 5 minutes to the ferry port for ferry's to the likes of Waiheke Island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a 2BR apartment for 3 nights to begin our New Zealand trip. I really don't think we could have made a better choice. The room had every convenience including a kitchenette with modern appliances. However, there is no wireless internet--a problem if you are using an iPad for your access. There is a computer in the lobby for your use (for a fee). The location was especially convenient and we did not need a car until we left Auckland. The ferry terminal, restaurants, grocery store, and bus stop were a short walk away. A very, very good value.

P.S. We thought the Indian restaurant in the lobby was great--very good food and service. The delicious smell did permeate the lobby, but not the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stayed at the Celestion Waldorf Apartments for 5 days during a recent visit to Auckland. I found the location to be very good as it's within walking distance of the central city. The parking situation, however, is very poor. When I arrived by car there was no place to park in front of the hotel other than a very narrow lane down the side which can only accommodate one parked car. I was forced to circle the block until the parking space in the lane became available so I could check in.

My booking at Celestion included free parking, however, the check-in staff were unaware of this and tried to charge me extra. In the end, I was assigned a parking space behind the hotel. It was great to have a parking space right at the hotel (others were assigned parking 5 minutes walk away) but several times during my stay I had to wait before I could park as the small lane used to access the car park was blocked by another car.

Once checked in I found there is only one small elevator in the building, which is also used by the housekeeping staff. I often had to wait up to 5 minutes before the elevator became available.

I found my room to be clean and of a comfortable size (2-bedroom with small living area and kitchen). However, in the main bedroom there was an audible humming sound coming from the ventilation/plumbing system in the ceiling.

Finally, on checking out the reception staff again tried to charge me for parking. They would also not immediately refund the $100 deposit I had made via preauthorization on my credit card, stating that housekeeping were unavailable to inspect the room until later that day. This surprised me as other hotels I have stayed at do this on the spot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Your pre-authorisation was released later in the day and with your feedback we will review our policies on such matters.

Our downtown location does present its own unique parking constraints which we try and manage as best we can. However in this case we have failed to meet expectations and for that I am truly sorry. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you can give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Regards

Andrew Buenter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.