We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You expect more at the Viaduct!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Degree Restaurant

Degree Restaurant
Viaduct Harbor, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #475 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is on Viaduct Harbor
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You expect more at the Viaduct!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very disappointing. Extremely slow (food arrived 75 mins after placing order). No one cared how long it took or that we were getting distressed about it. Staff un attentive, but continued pushing the drinks on us whilst we continued to wait.. alas It didn't seem overly busy. When the food finally arrived Chicken Supreme was bland, Fish & Chips unexciting and fish fillet the size of my credit card. Steak arrived without the accompanying blue cheese sauce. We had to ask for napkins! On paying and saying we had experienced a long wait, arrogant barman rolled his eyes and argued. We just paid and walked. Sadly won't go back. Mains averaged $28-30 pr head. Maybe we struck a bad night on a Sunday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    10
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 Great stone grill meals at Degree Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We really enjoyed 2 fantastic meals at Degree restaurant
Cooking our own meals on the stone grill is a pretty unique experience. We enjoyed cooking our steaks at our table and the food was tasty and hot!! Went back 2 days in a row it was so delicious and a fun interactive experience too. Nice relaxed ambience and pleasant service. Great location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Aweful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've never complained in a restaurant before butch this was disgusting.

Firstly service was slow. We ordered a hot rock dish with raw meat and a hot rock to cook it on plus we ordered 2 side dishes.

It took quite some time to arrive and I heard the service bell in the kitchen being rung furiously.

The side of onion rings tasted nice but was Luke warm.

I had to chase our roger side dish and when I called a waitress she could not speak English even to a basic level.

The side of Asian greens was 3 or 4 baby bok choi steamed until they were tough olive green lumps.

The meat serving was tiny, I mean minuscule for the price and the first couple of bits were ok, but we were already thinking of stopping at a Mexican place on the way home to fill up. But the last cut of meat was so tough it was impossible to cut with my steak knife. No exaggeration!

I don't even want to think about the hygiene factor of slicing raw fish, chicken and red meat with the same knife you use to eat it with.

When I complained to the manager (who was run off her feet) to her credit she said she wouldn't charge us for it. Full marks for that but I still felt bad the rest of the night.

Definitely go somewhere else. There are plenty of good places nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad Table”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Would have rated this restaurant "average" except for the "bad" table. The people before us got their food and seemed happy with it. The people who can in after us got their food and seemed happy. We finally accosted a waiter, (not the one who had taken our order and disappeared). Our food promptly arrived - - warm - - it should have been served hot. My beer was compt.
So, if the menu appeals to you, go on in. If you get seated at the Bad table, don't wait to complain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive and slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Be prepared to give your credit card an outing or take plenty of cash. And don't expect this to be a flying visit either, as service was slow and in attentive and food was very slow to come out and it wasn't busy when we visited. Was the food good? Yes, undoubtedly. The steak on stone experience which we didn't do but observed looked fantastic. My sole reason for an average rather than a very good was price coupled with slow service. I don't think the venue justifies the price they charge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Degree Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Degree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Degree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.