We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K Road City Travelers Hostel

K Road City Travelers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added K Road City Travelers Hostel to your Saves list
K Road City Travelers Hostel
146 Karangahape Road | PO Box 68884, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
T_diddy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great location right next to the main shopping street and bus routes.

The staff were great and really tried to help you if you needed anything.

Great free breakfast.

Wifi was free and it was really fast.

Lockers in the room to secure things.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
13
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Staff here really make you welcome and are helpful with everything. The 'included' breakfast is really plentiful and should satisfy even the most hungry of travellers. It's only 30 mins walk down Queen Street to Auckland Bay and a few minutes to the airport bus which takes around 30 mins, running every 15 minutes through the day. We came back a second time as they were so good the first time. Thanks to the staff - you really make this place the success it is.

Room Tip: We had room 5 and that was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The location was ok and was near lots of bars and food places. However it wasn't very near the CBD and dock areas and the main tourist sights. We didn't experience nighclub noise but were kept awake into the small hours by people in the lounge area. I would agree that the walls are probably quite thin as the people didn't seem that loud when you were near to them. The free wi-fi was a bonus although I remember the signal wasn't that great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was ok and clean; non-descript but comfortable enough. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but better than nothing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I rarely write online reviews but I have been very happy with my three stays at this hostel. Obvious plusses: a comfortable common area with kitchen, laundry, free wifi (VERY unusual in NZ), free breakfast. Good location on K Road. A friendly bunch of other guests. Really nice staff.

Only downside: it is on K Road, a major nightlife area, so expect some noise+light on weekend nights. This may not be the best place to stay if you are a light sleeper. I had several excellent night sleeps though.

Given the free wifi and comfortable lounge area, I even managed to get a decent amount of work done here. If you're looking for budget accommodation for one person, you can't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We booked this hostel on the strength of the trip advisor reviews. Not sure if the nightclub below the hostel was closed when everyone else did the reviews but as I write this review the music is ridiculously loud (the ear plugs provided at reception offer no resistance) and will be until around 4am, like last night. We've cancelled our 3rd night and got a refund as we don't want to be here any longer. I'm usually a pretty heavy sleeper but I found it impossible to sleep.

The hostel itself is ok. Clean enough. Bathrooms are alright, but not the best. Free wi-fi is very good. Kitchen is very small, and can only fit 2 people in at a time. Gets very busy and cramped at dinner time. Rooftop terrace is nice, but not much to look at except the outside section of beforementioned nightclub.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarikei, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very clean bathroom, kitchen, bed& communal room. Free wifi in room & self-service b/fast are bonus. Very helpful staffs (the funny Jian and Celine), manager-Peter were very considerate on our wrong date booking. Highly recommended to everyone. Will come back if got chance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This place is very clean and tidy, which is always what I want. I think the place is just recently refurbished and that makes all the area including the bathrooms be kept clean and spotless. There are not many rooms which means everyone can have his own privacy somehow, even in the common area. I especially like the rooftop where you can enjoy your quiet time under the sunlight. Free wi-fi services is fabulous. Staff are very helpful and they will do whatever they can to accomodate your need. It is a place I would highly recommend to anyone visiting auckland city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K Road City Travelers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Road City Travelers Hostel

Address: 146 Karangahape Road | PO Box 68884, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your K Road City Travelers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Road City Travelers Hotel Auckland Central
K Road City Travelers Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K Road City Travelers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.