We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy start, but only up from there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SidArt

SidArt
level 1 three lamps plaza, 283 ponsonby road | ponsonby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
64-9-3602122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $1 - $76
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: METRO BEST NEW RESTAURANT 2010SIDART Restaurant is a fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Friday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bumpy start, but only up from there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our dining at SidArt and expectations were quite high, so we were a little taken aback when we were greeted with a nod in the direction of our table along with a cursory "your over there". We scuttled over to our table to wait for our dining companions, a little surprised. However, once we are settled in we all opted for the 10 course degustation menu with wine match. If I had to describe the experience in one word, I'd say it was 'intricate'. The unusual presentation of each dish was exciting and the taste sensations just kept coming throughout the night. In the end as we got to the three desserts, I couldn't help but offer little claps as each one was placed in front of us. The experience was fun and fulfilled our very high expectations in the end.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    23
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An extraordinary evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

As "foodies," we strive to locate restaurants with innovative chefs and thoughtful wine lists wherever we travel. SidArt fit that bill and then some!

Both a tasting menu and a four course a la carte menu were available the night we visited. We opted for the latter, pairing two excellent NZ wines from their exceptional wine list with our dinner. Included was a surprise aperitif that set the tone for the meal and showcased the chef's creativity that permeated each delectable dish.

Sid highlights the freshness of local fish, game and produce with his expert preparation, and the presentation on each plate is tastefully and artistically done without being pretentious or over the top.

Prices reflect the unique experience at this restaurant, but the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to try some of the best cuisine and wines we've tasted anywhere in the world was well worth the cost. That's an investment we can take with us!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Truly Edible Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

What a perfect dining experience. The staff were attentive and carried off the perfect balance between friendliness and formality.

The food was incredible - I would recommend this restaurant to anyone travelling to Auckland. The chef truly does serve art on a plate - the pork belly and duck were amazing and the roquefort cheesecake was a true masterpiece. Do not miss out on eating here - I would suggest this restaurant is miles above many of the 'fine-dining' establishments back here in Melbourne.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“special diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Cannot believe how good the chef is. Not an obvious place to go but worth seeking this place out. all the team here work well to deliver a great experience

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

SidArt is a real dining experience, go for the degustation menu you will not be disappointed. Every course was flawless and imaginative with some awesome wine matches made this a real treat. Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SidArt also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to SidArt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SidArt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.