We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giapo Ice Cream

Giapo Ice Cream
279 Queen Street | Next to the Civic Theatre, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Giapo Ice Cream & Research Kitchen)
+64 9-550 3677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Kosher, Vegan, Ice Cream, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Dessert
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Quoting a famous song from legend singer Tina Turner, Giapo is simply the best GELATERIA in Auckland. The secret is easy: great (almost OCD) attention to details and deliciously fresh organic produce. Bravissimi Gianpaolo e Annarosa!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    84
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“My Favorite Ice Cream Store in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very cute ice cream store. Ice cream tastes very rich and good design. Pistachios and Kiss Kiss are my favorite flavours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I come here as often as possible, we even make the trip over from the shore when we are craving! Open until really late hours, beautiful different flavors, don't go any where else for dessert. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Firstly, the staff are unbelievably patient and genuine. To deal with constant crowds with such grace and to wait patiently while you decide (rather than making customers feel rushed) is such a good quality.

Having tried gelato a few places around New Zealand, I'd decided I preferred ice-cream over gelato as gelato didn't have the rich, 'real' taste that NZ ice-cream had (in my opinion). Then I discovered Giapo's. Wow. Absolutely divine, and such a bonus to hear they use organic ingredients as we try and eat organic wherever we go.

I had the lemon sorbet and tiramisu gelato (as I asked for a gelato that wasn't TOO sweet) - both were absolutely gorgeous and each flavour has it's own individual 'topping' (the topping on the lemon sorbet that night was a handmade lemon jelly and candyfloss. SUCH a treat, I was only in Auckland for the night so didn't get to go back a second time but I considered going back in the morning!

The only thing that would make this place better in my opinion, would be to offer brief descriptions of the flavours (in writing, on the glass window or somewhere close) so you can make decisions this way. Also, if they had a few other options other than gelato (this would be if they were wanting to expand obviously) to appeal to those that don't like gelato so when you're in a large group, there's something for everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“World best ice cream parlour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Hey everybody,

As been Giapo regular customer, would like inform you that Giapo ice cream & research kitchen is becoming amazing everyday. Actually I m just speechless......I have no words to say about Giapo himself n Sonia.

Keep up guys........n also would like to request Giapo, if he could make Black Forest ice cream next week please.

Zeeshan

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giapo Ice Cream also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Giapo Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giapo Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.