We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, peaceful, comfortable, welcoming haven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaumontstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumontstay
Save
You added Beaumontstay to your Saves list
12 Telpher Street | St Marys Bay, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Bega, Australia
1 review
“Delightful, peaceful, comfortable, welcoming haven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

From the moment we arrived Wendy made us feel welcome and at home. From the well stocked and modern equipt kitchen to the spacious, comfortable, quiet, top of the stairs bedroom (well worth the effort and exercise), with ensuite and stunning city and skytower views from our private balcony, not to mention several beneficial visits to the sauna...we were well looked after. Located on the fringe of Aucklands CBD, this B&B is handy to harbour ferries and restaurants, Ponsonby Rd shops and eateries, city circuit bus, excellent supermarket a block away, and the best sushi we've ever tasted at "Victoria Sushi" on Victoria Rd. Beaumontstay is a most peaceful, elegant and comfortable place to stay. Wendy is a very relaxed, obliging and intuitive host. We will look forward to our next stay here, when we hopefully return to NZ next year. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed here for two nights after our arrival in Auckland from the UK. We arrived about 1am in the morning, but as arranged Wendy got up to let us in and showed us to our room. The decor is stylish and the room was spotlessly clean and we did feel very relaxed, having the freedom to use the kitchen and living space of what is also effectively Wendy's home. Wendy was an excellent host - friendly but without being intrusive. Not quite luxury, but very chilled out and comfortable and good value for the money. Location is also very good, not far from Ponsonby Road, and some nice views of Auckland from the bedroom window. Just a word about anyone booking via Wotif.com - on our booking form it said Private Balcony, but in the end we were given a room without a balcony. As we arrived very late and were very tired we didn't quibble, but we didn't actually get what we paid for using Wotif.com. Just a point.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed one night in February to see if we like this place. It was billed as a vacation rental and we believed that we had our own apartment. This is not the case. It's a collection of bedrooms (ours was very small) and use of a community kitchen and living area. There is no elevator and we had to lug all our luggage (we were staying in NZ for a month) up three flights of narrow stairs and back down again. The proprietor is really wonderful and the place is beautiful. For business people who don't want to eat out a lot it probably works well. Our room was also in the back of the house and it was very hot at night. Wendy did say she was thinking of putting in an air conditioner which would be nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Beaumontstay is an excellent place to stay. It is welcoming, friendly and relaxed, yet professional with all the necessary amenities. Lots of lovely added extras, including wine in the fridge and gorgeous NZ-made toiletries. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Beaumontstay is a wonderfull little hidden treasure in Auckland it was our first time stay and what a great value for $ it was . Wendy is your host (lovely ,lovely lady ) she has done a great job in the feel of the place as soon as you arrive !! The decor , furnishings, 5 stars for cleanliness,great appointed kitchen and a beautifull Mattress to sleep on what more can you ask for. Breakfast is included in the tariff and if you want to cook the kitchen is yours to do so !!! I can only say it was like being at home , and we will be back !!!!!! 5 stars all round .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Beaumontstay and it suited us perfectly. It is a 3 bedroom townhouse on the fringe of the city. So it is close enough to walk to the city centre, harbour/viaduct and the fantastically diverse Ponsonby Road but far enough from the city centre that you don't get that constant city hum.

There were 2 other couples staying when we stayed however we only crossed paths once; which is a shame because they were friendly interesting people. You wouldn't know that other people were in the house once in your room.

There is a communal lounge/kitchen/dining room and we were encouraged to make ourselves at home - which we did. We had a 4 month old baby, so stayed in one night and cooked ourselves dinner. We also used the washing machine, which was really handy with a young one.

The decor is modern and fresh, great quality finish and extremely clean. I wish I had Wendy's cleaner at home!

Beaumontstay is located on the fringe of the city and is surprisingly quiet. It was incredibly warm in Auckland when we were there and I thought I wouldn't sleep well with the heat. However with the windows open and a little fan, it was the best sleep we had had in a while. I was also anxious for the other people staying with our little baby, given that he was prone to waking up in the night...which he did once. However everyone staying was informed by Wendy and they were absolutely fine with it and said they didn't hear a peep.

We stayed on the top floor, which was a climb with our bub and the luggage but once up, it was a fantastically big room with a great ensuite and balcony. We left a bulk of our luggage on the ground floor and only took up what we needed. Wendy kindly provided a portacot.

Our stay was made all the more relaxing by Wendy, the owner of Beaumontstay. She is extremely friendly, attentive to detail and is available for assistance as much or as little as you need.

We were only in Auckland for 2 days and enjoyed exploring Ponsonby Road, with a fantastic array of cafes and shops (great vintage shops too). We also wandered to the viaduct at the harbour for lunch and the city for a little look around - all accessible by foot.

We would definitely return to Beaumontstay and highly recommend it for a corporate stay, couples and families.

Stephanie, Dean and Luca - Melbourne

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Wendy was a wonderful host it really felt like you were staying with family or a friend. This was a wonderful place to start our vacation. The beds were extremely comfortable just what you need after a long flight.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaumontstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumontstay

Address: 12 Telpher Street | St Marys Bay, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumontstay, Boutique Townhouse style accommodation right in the heart of Auckland. Immaculately presented and designed to accommodate the most discerning traveler. The quiet location is exceptional, right in the city yet quiet and stress free. Rooms with fantastic views and beds to dream in, crisp white cotton sheets and fluffy pure NZ woolen blankets. Historic Victoria Park and the Markets are just across the road and the Viaduct harbour is a short walk away – excellent for dining out or entertaining. If dining in, guests are welcome to use the well appointed kitchen. The pantry is well stocked with basics, and the Award Winning New World supermarket is just half a block away. Rent the whole house for a holiday or just an en-suite room B&B style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumontstay Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaumontstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.