We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, nice menu and good prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moreton's Bar & Restaurant

Moreton's Bar & Restaurant
425 Tamaki Drive | St Heliers, Auckland, New Zealand
(09) 575 9969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #394 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, nice menu and good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I always thought this place was a bit expensive but not so, I had brunch there with friends a few weeks ago and was very pleasantly surprised. The food was well presented and appealing. Our waiter was friendly and very efficient. The location of course couldn't be better, right on the waterfront looking out over the beach in a lovely suburban village. I'll be back again for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great casual dining and very kid friendly...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

...seems to be under new ownership. Met one of the owners today at lunchtime, Scott, who is clearly passionate about providing a great service. One of the better kids menus around and the food in general sits at the top end for pub food. Ceaser salad was great, fish cake and poached egg delicious...my coffee was also good. Thoroughly recommend for brunch...good work Scott...keep it up, we will be back...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great position, poor place to be when full”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Must say the menu is 'up there' for a pub style restaurant. But when full, cannot hear oneself, bar staff are so busy it becomes difficult to get a drink.

Food was well cooked , pleasant wait staff, but not a place to rush back to!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a tapas type lunch with relatives - food was great and kids well catered for - some really imaginative dishes as well as more traditional - beautiful setting topped it off !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had brunch at Moreton's today and it was a very ordinary experience. The food was OK, chosen by default from a pretty uninspired menu of brunch classics without much flair. But the service was appalling. We ordered an apple juice and a tomato juice, had to ask where they were, then got brought one of the juices and a coffee. We then ordered two glasses of wine and got only one. Finally we had to ask for our coffees twice...
Don't bother... there are so many other good places in Auckland, this one does not warrant your patronage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moreton's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Moreton's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moreton's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.