We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best low cost accommodation we've had in a while” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Court Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tudor Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   108 Great South Road | Epsom, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best low cost accommodation we've had in a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really impressed with how clean, tidy and cosy this place was! It's central and was a great spot to be in for a function we had in Newmarket.The place has been refurbished and it was nice and modern. It was also easy to find, warm and safe. I was also impressed with the Organic tea, coffee and hot chocolate they had! Fantastic value for money, we will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip W, Owner at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi Newlyweds246

Thank you for giving us such a detailed review of your most recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoy the location of our motel. We continue supporting our community by using Fair Trade products; also to protect our environment by providing our guests Bio-degradeable toilet tissue and rubbish liner.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,
Phillip Wei
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The motel is small but certainly very comfortable. There is some traffic noise from Great South Road and you can hear trains running nearby during the day, but it was not intolerable. That is to be expected for the location ( I have yet to stay in any motel where road noise is not an issue).

The staff were very pleasant to the point when I was not feeling well one day the owners were very caring and did everything to cater for my needs (they presented me with a fruit platter to ease my sore throat which was an unexpect pleasure and surprise).
The units are clean and comfortable (the bed and pillows were a dream). The bathroom and kitchen were very presentable. Staff were excellent and responsive to all my requests. A complementary paper was delivered each morning of my stay. I stayed 7 nights and will be coming back next time I visit Auckland.

I travel a lot and frequent a lot of motels. I don't write recommendations in general, but for the price, comfort, cleanliness and service, this is the best accomodation value in Auckland.

To the family, thank you for making me feel most welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip W, Owner at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi Switchedonlady_Fran

Thank you for giving us such a detailed review of your most recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you love our newly refurbished rooms and we are always aiming to provide the best services to our guests. We hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,
Phillip Wei
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We bought tickets to the All Blacks vs Ireland first test match 2012 Steinlager Series and had no idea where to stay as it was our first time. We wanted somewhere cheap and near to Eden Park Stadium. The stadium provides free shuttle buses which ferry passengers from several points at the Newmarket suburb. The nearest to us was about 15 mins walk from Tudor Court Motor Lodge.We paid NZD95 per double room (ensuite). It comes with coffee making facilities, TV, hot and cold shower, a queen bed and free internet and a portable heater.laundry machines are available. Breakfast was NZD12 per person but we had our meals at nearby cafes. There are a number of cafes next to the motel including a Malaysian and an Indian restaurants. Buses to Auckland CBD stops infront motel. We would stay here again to watch the All Blacks match at Eden Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip W, General Manager at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi Anissha

I am glad to hear that you love our motel. We just finished a major refurbishment in June. I am looking forward to meet you again in the near future. Thank you very much.

Regards,
Phillip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was on a busy road and was noisy both day and night. The kitchen was a joke very small and hardly worthy of the name. The drainer on the sink was pathetic no more than 4 inches wide - put one cup on it and it was full - hardly any room in that kitchen area.
although clean and regularly serviced it wasn't a great place to stay in Auckland there are much better to choose from avoid if you can.
Free internet was the only good point.

Room Tip: Get rooms at the back further from the road if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip W, Manager at Tudor Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Mike

Thank you for your review. We did a major renovation in our bathroom and kitchen in Aug 2011. However, due to the size of the room we were unable to install a full kitchen in the rooms.

We are very glad to hear that you like our Free Wifi service. We definitely look forward to welcoming you to come to visit our motel again.

Best regards,
Phillip
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tudor Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Court Motor Lodge

Address: 108 Great South Road | Epsom, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tudor Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our brand new Qualmark 4.5 star motel offers you “Contemporary Charm” accommodation; a truly home away from home.FULLY REFURBISHED in June 2012. All rooms are BRAND NEW from top to bottom. FREE Off-street Parking, FREE Newspaper, FREE Wi-Fi. 18 all ground floor rooms best for corporate travelers, couples, families and tourists. All units are designated non-smoking with en-suite bathrooms. Rooms feature brand new “Sleepyhead” beds with thick mattress topper makes you feel sleeping on the cloud. Tea/Coffee making facilities, Toaster, Fridge, Heating, HD LCD TV with Freeview, Sky Movie and Sky Sports are standard in all rooms; while our Kitchenette rooms equipped with Hobs and Microwave oven. Guest Laundry onsite, Continental and Full Breakfast available. We are located in the centre of Auckland with easy access to both Southern and Northern motorways. 10 mins to Downtown Auckland; 20 mins from Airport; 3 mins to Newmarket and ASB showground. Main attractions such as Auckland Domain and Museum, Ellerslie and Alexandra Racecourse, One Tree Hill and Cornwall Park are all within 5 mins drive. Auckland hospital, Greenlane hospital and Mercy Ascot hospital are also within 5 mins drive. Bus stop just cross the street and train station is 500m away that will take you to anywhere in Auckland. Easy walking distance to local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tudor Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Court Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.