We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast
16 Poronui St | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a two night stay at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast in early February. What a lovely B&B this is. Hosts Christine and Antony are lovely people, as is their home. Their home is in a very quiet street, but is only a short walking distance to a variety of cafes and restaurants.

The bedroom we had was well appointed with nice furnishings and quality linen. There is also a private lounge for guests to use. WiFi internet access is also included. The continental/cooked breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review Richard . We enjoyed hearing about your tramping adventures.
We hope to see both again in the future.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Eden Villa was a haven of calm and hospitality for me - a frazzled, exhausted and anxious academic. Christine and Anthony are charming, providing everything you could possibly need or want with a smile, including a healthy breakfast with the most perfectly boiled eggs. I have never seen such a gorgeous garden - I could not find a single weed :-)

The location for me was perfect - 5 minutes to walk to the university, 5 minutes to the village to have a meal or drink and 10 minutes to walk to Mount Eden to enjoy the spectacular views and have some good and much needed exercise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review Celia. We look forward to welcoming you to Eden Villa again.i hope you had a great holiday before returning to the UK. Best wishes
Christine &. Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast BC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Three years ago my husband and I started our New Zealand trip staying at Eden Villa inAuckland.
We loved it and so for our return visit it was to Eden Villa we turned to begin this next visit here.
Christine and Anthony are wonderful hosts that love to share their home and their City with you. Their rooms are wonderfully comfortable and roomy and the breakfasts each day include a lot of fresh and local ingredients.
This location is easy to get to by shuttle from the airport and has very easy access to the motorways. We love the walk from Mount Eden to the inner City and from there it is easy to get a ferry to the beautiful islands just a short way from Auckland.
Mount Eden is a beautiful little community with excellent food choices and lovely coffee shops and bakeries. It has a lovely book store too.
If we ever return to New Zealand again, we would love to start it with a stay at Eden Villa.

Room Tip: We love the front room with its light but the other rooms are just as beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Stephanie & David
Many thanks for your review- we look forward to seeing you again. There will still be many trails to wander . Best Wishes
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Eden Villa. Christine and Antony are lovely people, have a beautiful home, and serve a healthy and delicious (no, the two are not mutually exclusive!) breakfast.
We stayed in two different rooms (because we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip to NZ) and were very happy with both. If you appreciate quality linens and heated towel racks, you'll really like Eden Villa!
We found the location to be convenient, with plenty of good restaurants in the Mt. Eden neighborhood. Christine and Antony were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and sightseeing ideas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review- it was a pleasure to meet you and hear about your travels.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Eden Villa my first night in NZ. It was wonderful. The room was very spacious and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable and just what I needed after such a long trip. Christine and Antony were very gracious hosts. The breakfast the following morning was delicious. I wish I had the opportunity to stay longer as I enjoyed my night very much. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you another time at Eden villa
Best wishes
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Eden Villa for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and start of a 4 week trip to New Zealand over Christmas.
The villa itself is in gorgeous surroundings. The garden is a lovely place to chill out after a long flight! Mount Eden itself is lovely with lots of cafes, bars and bakeries. All this and only 10 minutes on the bus into Auckland.
The bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated with wonderful finishing touches like fresh flowers and gorgeous toiletries.
Antony and Christine made us feel so welcome and loved getting to know us and other guests over breakfast.
Breakfasts were awesome!!! Christine's homemade muesli with fresh rhubarb from the garden were a real winner and we shall definitely be following her recipie to recreate it!
They recommended places for us to go and see and gave us some really helpful advice about the rest of NZ and what to do and see.
We can't wait to go back to NZ and shall definitely be returning to Eden Villa.
Thank you Antony and Christine for making the start of our honeymoon so memorable for all the right reasons. We really enjoyed our stay and went on to have a fabulous time in a wonderful country! Already saving to come back.
Love Joe & Briony

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you Briony & Joe for writing a review. We were delighted to meet you and be your first stop in New Zealand. We trust you had a great honeymoon with many adventures while you were here.
Regards
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip to NZ and we were lucky enough to stay at Eden Villa. Christine and Antony are perfect hosts, they are so kind and gave wonderful suggestions on what to do and see. The rooms are well appointed with each having a master bath and fresh flowers from the beautiful, relaxing garden. The brkfsts had specialty breads, yogurts, homemade muesli and marmalades. The location is one block to Eden Village; shops, restaurants and bakeries. The bus line runs through the Village so you are easily able to get anywhere in Auckland. Thank you Christine and Antony for making part of our trip to NZ so wonderful and welcoming!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you Tracey for your lovely review. We so enjoyed meeting you and Scott and the lovely conversations we had. The almonds are wonderful - thank you.Have a great 2013
Regards
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast

Address: 16 Poronui St | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful boutique Bed & Breakfast in a central leafy Auckland suburb. Each room is decorated with tasteful furnishings and luxurious linen. Guests have access to a variety of restaurants, cafes and bars, all within a five minute walk. Guests can relax on the deck overlooking the garden. A truly tranquil and gracious home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list