We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Auckland stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great Auckland stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at St Martins Waldorf in May 2013 with my elder kids. I requested for 1 bed apt but was upgraded to a 2 bedroom apt when I arrived. They even provided me with an extra door key so that my son can leave anytime when he wants to go back to Auckland university. The kitchen is well equipped with utensils so we can prepare simple dishes. The laundry facilities are great. Wi Fi is also available, The location is very close to both the city & Auckland Uni and also Queen Street and we can go anywhere on foot. Great free light breakfast daily- friendly service and good quality apartment It was my first time to Auckland for a holiday but will definitely choose this place again for my business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
dalitkagan Thank you for your positive review of St Martins. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I remember your visit to see your son at Auckland University. I agree that the communal laundry is easy to use after getting tokens from reception. We are glad that you also enjoyed your breakfast each day with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you next come over the see your son. Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    222
    96
    28
    16
See reviews for
235
104
22
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very large one bedroom apartment for the price of a budget hotel. Well worth it. Many amenities including even a washer and dishwasher. All furnishings and appliances are good quality.

One downside was that it was slightly cold and we weren't able to control the heating. Also, there is no daily cleaning service.

The location is good but not quite as central as some of the other reviews make it sound. Walking to the ferry terminal area is a comfortable but slightly long walk. However, we'd recommend taking the bus back to the hotel because it's an uphill walk.

Internet is not included but can be purchased separately at a reasonable price of $10 per 1GB up to one week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Jiajiabinks thank you for your review. When you stay with us again please ask at reception if you require anything like heaters or extra blankets. We are only too pleased to help. You are correct that we do not do daily services. These are usually done on day 3 and day 6 of your stay. Buses regularly go to downtown and the ferries for a minimal charge. Usually 50c. Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We picked up an excellent deal on this hotel for 4 people 3 night in a 2 bedroom apartment. Rooms were spotless and comfortable, excellent location. Reception a bit hit and miss, but I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you dare2burbest for your review of St Martins. I am sorry that you did not find your experience at reception completely to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Probably a 3.5 star place. The room rate, self rating and location made it logical to choose.
However it doesn't meet its rating and I feel it is more of a student apartment complex.
That said they have a strict policy on noise etc.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the harbour as you will get less noise from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Kerry255371 thank you for your review of St Martins. While we do provide long term accommodation the majority of our over 100 apartments are hotel rooms with a very large client base. I agree with your comments that we do have a strict party policy and enforce this.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am writing this on behalf of my daughter and her family. They have just returned from a 3 week trip touring NZ in a Campervan.
Their 1st 3 nights were spent staying at the St.Martins Waldorf, she could not praise this Hotel enough, they were very impressed with the room, it was very clean, well equipped and the staff could not do enough for them. They had breakfast supplied each morning which they weren't expecting and there was a lady in the kitchen who put the pancake maker on for their 4 year old daughter even though it was not a morning for pancakes.
The other thing I must mention is that they left their new Camera Charger in their room on departure and did not discover this until further down south. After contacting myself and the Hotel to organise the return Kit (General Manager) went out of his way to post it back to Australia for us.
This was super service and wonderful that they went out of their way to make sure my daughter and her family had a great stay.
WONDERFUL!!
Lynne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Scotlynn99 thank you for your review. My original reply to your review the day after your posted it did not seem to end up being posted. We are glad that your family enjoyed the breakfasts and pancakes. We are always happy to send guest property back to them to ensure that they receive the service that they deserve. I have relayed the positive comments about cleanliness and service back to staff. Thank you for your comments
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights never having stayed at a Waldorf property before and were very pleasantly surprised.
Our 1 bedroom hotel apartment on the 15th floor was spotlessly clean and well-equipped with a huge bed, TV, balcony, washing machine and tumble dryer and a small kitchen. We had views up and down on the city skyline It was pretty much perfect for us.Internet servicewas speedyand the reception stafvery polite
Both days we had the complemntry breakfast. ..breakfast were great and the serving staff and cook in the restaurant were friendly and helpful.
We were so pleased with this thishotelthat we made a point of staying with them everywhere we could while on our trip around the North Island in our current| NZ visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Charoolily thank you for your positive review of St Martins. I have passed your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms onto housekeeping as they work hard to ensure that rooms are spotlessly clean. We feel that we present a quality experience and it is great to have this backed up by satisfied guests. It is also great that you used our recommended accommodation partners on your travels in the North Island.
Jeannette, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Was recently up in Auckland at a conference and all participants were booked into the St. Martins Waldorf Apartment Hotel. The room I stayed in was clean, sleek and contemporary with every amenity. On leaving I inadvertently left my GHD Hair Straighteners in the room and discovered it the next morning on my return to the Kapiti Coast so I rang and enquired...was put on to the General Manager, Kit who arranged to have them posted back to me. A friendly email later informed me that because the cost of postage was under $10, no money would be deducted from my credit card. How awesomely cool of them!!!
Maria

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Maria thank you for your good review of St Martins. It was our pleasure to return your GHD Hair Straighteners to you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.