We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best apartment hotel evar :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best apartment hotel evar :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've relocated to Auckland for a job; as part of my relocation package I received 3 weeks in a hotel. Originally booked in the Langham--very nice, but a hotel without any facilities for even making my own breakfast--I demurred and requested an apartment hotel. Having previously stayed at the Qwent on Cintra Lane (very nice) I decided to give the St Martins Waldorf a go this time.

I'm very glad I did: this place is great!

This isn't a hotel so it's unfair to expect the sorts of services one gets in a hotel, such as daily servicing of your room. But for a longer stay, the twice a week servicing (including one change of linens) is fine; if you've a need to require an additional service they're great about that too. There is a tiiiiny pool out back, but August Auckland peaks at about 17C with a brisk breeze: it might be heated but I couldn't be bothered. Others said it was noice, however.

I was booked in a 1 bedroom originally, but for NZ$9/per night more I upgraded myself into the 2 bedroom. It's only got a bit more space (the lounge, in fact, is a bit smaller than the 1BR), but the extra room is great for debris and luggage...I came with 3 big bags on my flight since I'm relocating. The lounge has a 2 seat loveseat, a desk and a narrow, waist-high "dining bench" with 4 chairs. The kitchen includes all the pots and pans and dishes and glassware and cutlery for 4, plus a good sized fridge, over, 2 hob burner and small drawer dishwasher. The hotel supplies washing up liquid, dishwasher powder, tea towel, j-cloth and dish brush. They don't supply a dishrack: the sink is stainless with a faux rack/groove system built in.

Bathroom is large, with a stall shower, sink, toilet, towel warmer AND a washing machine. Powder for the machine is also supplied; you can get free tokens to use the dryers on level P1 from reception. It's been awesome having the laundry so convenient. Having a bathtub would've been even more awesome, but it seems apartments in Auckland in general don't have baths if the building's been built in the last decade or so.

Location is great: at the top of Symonds Street near the far (quieter) end of Karangahape (K) Rd. K Rd has lots of food and café options and there's heaps more on Queen Street. Lots of buses into town or to other parts of Auckland either on K Rd or Symonds itself, including the green Inner Link: places like Newmarket, Ponsonby and the like are less than 10 minutes on the Inner Link. it's a couple 100m to the top of Queen Street and the red City Link. Walking into town from the hotel is easy, since it's all downhill; walking up is a killer though.

What really makes the property, however, are the staff. All are very nice and professional. Very attentive. In the breakfast room there's a continental on offer plus a pancake machine. Skip their espresso machine, however. If the staff were unpleasant this would be a good hotel: they make it a great one.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level and try to find a rate that includes both the breakfast and 1GB of free inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
JPEYVR Thank you for your comments about our property and our staff. They are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    222
    96
    28
    16
See reviews for
235
104
22
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

very good in Auckland City- We had a 2 bedroom hotel apartment ( 9th level) that all our family used. Very modern and secured accommodation for a family. Very good value for family.Nice free breakfast for the family daily!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
loon7878 We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfasts. We hope to see you again in the future when you return to Auckland NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed here twice now, and I have no complaints, although the motorway traffic and hospital helecoptors can take some getting used to. Clean units, balcony, comfortable beds, self contained units with everything you need to survive. It takes 15 minutes to walk to sky city, and less than 5 minutes to Queen st. Allow around 20-25 minutes to walk to the waterfront. Well priced for what you get.

Room Tip: I have always stayed on the motorway side, I would hope the other side of the building (north west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Tracey M thank you for your review. For your next stay with us ask for a C or F 2 bedroom apartment or a D or E one bedroom. Then you will stay on the other side of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and both times the staff, room and location couldn't be faulted.
I would advise anyone planning a trip to Auckland to stay here, the rates are fantastic, breakfast is plentiful, location is a few minutes walk to the harbour.
The rooms are fantastic, wonderfully soft mattress, great size rooms with sofa's and everything you need in the kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer if you need it.
We did see the pool, which was small but didn't have the time to use it.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you pippaandtitch for your good review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked a one bedroom suite for us three ladies and it was perfect, we have been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suiteth which was beautiful, modern, great kitchen,nice veranda ,clean and great down to the bathroom suppliesThe staff were professional, friendly and accommodating at our request to have two single beds and the couch bed made up.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was on level 14, and even though at the back we could hardly hear the city noise and our view was lovely .
Such a very central location, creasonable walking distance to great restaurants, bars, clubs and Countdown supermarket (24/7)and shopping.Great free breakfast daily was included in the very good weekly rate
Would highly recommend for a girls stay away - or for a family wanting a reasonably priced but nice apartment styled city get away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello 186565Sommer00,
We agree that our central location to so many facilities is great. We aim for our guests to leave us happy. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very helpful and obliging reception staff. Great apartments. Very clean. This was our third time staying here but noticed that the washing machine/dryer had been removed from the bathroom. However the laundry is available free (tokens used) for residents. We stayed 3 nights and room service is once every 3 days. $18 per day for parking. Close to Auckland Hospital and bus routes. Breakfast was included in our reasonable price. Sizes of living areas vary in the 2 bedroomed apartments. Although we broke a glass tumbler we did not need to pay for it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Juliet S we like to read reviews from our return guests. We now have washing machines in most of our upper floor rooms. However, as you say, we do have the free laundry within the building. We look forward to seeing you again soon at St Martins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We loved this place! We had a two bedroom apartment, and it was spotless. Great location, next to the University, with a convenience store nearby. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare a meal, and there was a washing machine in the room, with a drier downstairs (free tokens for the drier). We payed $18 to park, and about $8 for 24 hours of wifi. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello BascomCootie,
I will pass onto staff your positive review of our property. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.