We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pastis - CLOSED

Pastis
128 Victoria St West, Auckland, New Zealand
09-379 3286
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Global
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Fantastic food, terrific service and a wonderful dining experience - all right in the heart of Auckland.

Friendly, prompt and discreet French staff offered great recommendations, perfect food+wine matching advice. A great restaurant where you can forget about other diners and really relax.

Highly recommended for all occasions big or small. Try the "Vol au Vent de la Mer au safran" - excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best French place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Authentic French food served by wonderful French staff - our favourite place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“French dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I'm french... and I enjoyed every bits of my evening.. a bit of home, far from home :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Genuine French experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

French owner, French maitre d', French chef, French staff, French wine, French food, French music, French atmosphere - get the picture. I like it a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food but a trifle noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We chose Pastis for a Friday night dinner and booked for 6:30. We had been there before some time ago and to its predecessor Bouchon in Kingsland and it was handy to where we were.
The service and attention we received was excellent and the French staff were very helpful indeed. After a look at the menu we had made our choices but the blackboard specials changed our minds. My wife had the John Dory and I chose the venison. We had an excellent glass of pinot gris from Alsace - quite different but very good.
The meals were well presented and the servings were generous. No complaints about the food at all. For dessert we shared profiteroles - again a generous serving and too much for one. Our waiter seemed to sense that we wanted to share and was right on top of it.
The other diners need to know the meaning of the word discreet. This is the second restaurant in two weeks where we have found inconsiderate patrons have spoiled the experience. Loud conversations are not necessary. I don't know why it is that people seem to have to yell at one another to converse. Perhaps they think they are on a cell phone - or perhaps excessive cellphone use has caused deafness. Or maybe it is just arrogance - hear me, look at me, here I am.
Now this is not Pastis' problem - or maybe it is. A discreet word to tone down the volume.
There was a lovely accordian player there as well which set a Parisian atmosphere. Perhaps she should position herself a little further away from the tables. She was right next to us and was a trifle loud.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastis also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.