We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, disappointing continental breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bianco off Queen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bianco off Queen to your Saves list
Bianco off Queen
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 White Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment, disappointing continental breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Good value for your money with regard to the room, including bathroom and kitchen. The breakfast did not live up to my expectations, you couldn't call it a continental breakfast, there was only one sandwich, not even spread (did include small juice and one banana).

Room Tip: Go out for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    182
    102
    63
    57
See reviews for
156
121
40
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

These apartments are great value, clean and tidy with all the mod cons
Walking distance to everything in the city
Security with parking available
Friendly helpful staff. Continental breakfast exceeded the norm.
Have stayed before and will stay again. Good to have 2 bedrooms when you are taking a family away. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This place was a tired 2 story apartment in a large block that seemed to be frequented by a less than salubrious clientele with people milling out the front late night etc.The beds were like rocks, the bathroom sink had a massive chip in it and the biggest joke of all was they got me to book by advertising a Continental breakfast included in the price.
This is fraud and they should be fined for promoting that nonsense on their sales spiel.Imagine my disappointment when arriving very late at night after a long flight to find The 'Continental breakfast was a tired old bun and two tired bananas , small container of orange juice and a muesli bar left in my room!
Here's me thinking it meant a nice breakfast where we could choose some pleasant things to eat and sit down with a nice coffee or tea like any normal motel .
It is supposed to be 4.5 star -if it is I will hop to Bourke! Steer clear at all costs .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi Jigbon,

Thank you for your feedback, it has been most useful and we will learn from your experience.

Unfortunately, we are located in Central Auckland and it has hard to control which 'salubrious clientele' roam the streets late at night.

Our breakfast is a complimentary item that is offered to all guests. We are a serviced apartment hotel, our breakfast is an added bonus that others in the city charge for and I am disappointed that this complimentary service was not up to your standards. Further, we offer complimentary premium coffee and team as a part of your room rate, fresh buns, fruit, muesli bar and yogurt.

Regardless, thank you for your feedback and safe travels back home.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The internet is not free as was advertised. When I questioned the front desk about it, they told me that I could get reimbursed for one hour of internet for $5 a day which they would refend me at the end of the week.

Also the street noise was very loud. Cars drive up and down the street all night and it sounds like there is no sound proofing at all on the walls and windows. It is about 50 metres away from a youth hostel, which didn't help.

However, the location was pretty convenient for the price.

Also, having a kitchen in the room as well as a washer and dryer in the roon was also convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Security - great
Location - great
Cleanliness - poor
Communication - poor
Rooms very small
rooms not serviced appropriately and not ready for us, we gave them 2 months notice , go figure.
Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi Dianne,

Thank you for your comments about our property. I am glad that that the Security, Cleanliness and Location of the property were as per your expectations. I am disappointed / surprised to hear that the room was 'small'. Our rooms range from 30SQM through to 100SQM which are some of the largest in Auckland - none the less, thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel exceeded all expectations friendly staff, large clean rooms, great location, well train knowledgeable staff ready to assist. I plan on returning here year after year. Bob

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi Bob,

Thank you for your comment, I am really glad you had a great stay and your stay exceeded expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel was pretty good in most aspects, except the bed. It was so hard I hardly slept. Pillow were also terrible. It spoilt the trip. They also do not have enough parking, so if you do stay, make sure you book ($20 extra!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your review at Bianco off Queen. I am glad you enjoyed the property for its location and what it offers. I do apologise that the bed was to hard for you, If i could, I would have changed it to a softer mattress for you :)

As for the pillows, the property has just gone ahead and changed our pillows to a higher standard that is expected in a 4* + property.

As for the parking, we are in Central Auckland and parking is at an absolute premium as you can imagine.

I look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you do return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bianco off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianco off Queen

Address: 2 White Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bianco off Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether travelling to Auckland for business or pleasure, Bianco off Queen serviced apartments offer the perfect location for your stay. Superbly positioned within minutes of Auckland ’s business, retail and entertainment districts. This is a serviced apartment hotel that will exceed expectation.All of Bianco off Queen’s spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments feature fully equipped kitchens, washing machines & dryers and large balconies. Limited onsite car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bianco off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianco Off Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Bianco Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bianco off Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.