We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banzai

Banzai
583 Dominion Road | Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
09-630 4489
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 1,175 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Dined here with family Food was great and well presented. They had toys for the littlies but only one booster seat for feeding. Service staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“CONTINUES TO EXCEED EXPECTATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

6 months on since last review
I visit this place at least once a week , and i have probably tried everything on the menu, and NOTHING has been a disappointment
The food presentation , and quality are superb , the overall presentation of thefood would leave a lot of other restaurants in NZ for shame , and then take a look at the prices
Starters around the $9 mark and the mains $12 to $14 on average
I dont know how they can present the quality and the quantity of food for these prices i
YUIM YUM Prawns 6 prawns wok cooked for $9.90 beat that Auckland restaurants
The only issue here now is that the popularity of the restaurant demands that it be tripled in size . but somehow they always seem toa accomodate everybody , very few people every get turned away by the smiling , friendfly staff , wha are an asset to this business

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Top class food at incredible prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I came here for dinner for the first time and left highly impressed with the service and food. Fresh, beautifully presented dishes. We had the usual, mixed sashimi, salmon and avocado sushi, mixed appetizers (highly recommend), spicy prawn salad (divine) and the salt and pepper squid, and calpi soda. The surrounding is down to earth, nothing fancy at all. But we didn't care as we were in japanese food heaven!! And all this for less than $70. Unbelievable...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Yet another beautifully presented dinner, every single dish was divine and ridiculously good value - for just over $60 the two of us had: Edamame, mixed appetizer, miso soup, Teriyaki Salmon (extremely fresh and cooked to perfection), Curry fish Udon, Ramune, 2 Plum Wines and a Green tea - amazing value! Banzai is also featured in the well respected tome "Where Chefs Eat"

Their Miso soup and Gyoza are the best I've ever tasted and the Yumyum Prawns live up to their name. The staff are extremely friendly and make every dish look like a work of art Definitely worth the travel to Balmoral from over the shore. Arigatou gozaimashita

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Banzai does it again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It had been some time since we had visited Banzai in Dominion Road, just down from Potter's Park on the right-hand side of Dominion Road (travelling more-or-less South). Because it is quite small, we have learned that it pays to pre-book a table.

As usual,it was quite packed with customers. We followed our usual custom (almost) and ordered a range of their appetisers. We each started with Miso soup (an essential for us!); and then proceeded to munch our way through Yum-Yum prawns; a mixed sashimi (also yum-yum); a salman/tuna Nigiri, another nigiri and a Tuna & Avocado salad. All the 'small' dishes arrived beautifully presented (as usual!), a delight to behold. It was almost a shame to eat them - but we did. Probably the least interesting was the salad, but that was more than made up for by the other items. To drink, Donna had a glass of cold pinot gris while I had (my usual) large hot sake - probably equivalent to about 1 1/2 - 2 glasses.
Service is also quite fast and very polite! - in this smallish restaurant, we counted 5 assistants plus the head chef. Well done all!
This is a reasonably regular haunt for us - we just keep coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banzai also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Banzai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banzai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.