We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Auckland apartment hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Haifa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great Auckland apartment hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we are just back from 1 week stay in Auckland in which we have a nice 1 bedroom+ office apartment on the 8th level of the complex.Very modern and upmarket complex with ffully equiiped hotel apartment.Nice brekfast daily and very suitablre for a stay as we had in Auckland. We choose the weekly rate which was a great deal and include only weekly cleaning service but we got replkacement of towels whenevewr we asked. Good Auckland quality and value for money accommodation

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    295
    71
    21
    9
See reviews for
303
237
33
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent two days here recently. We were very disappointed in the room we were given. We were told it was an upgrade from our deluxe one bedroom apartment and it did have two bedrooms, although the second room was windowless and little more than a closet.

Our main complaint was the flawed room design and sterile, souless fitout. It was so uninviting and uncomfortable. Also, while we were told our room was on the quiet side of the hotel, our sleep was disturbed by a lot of noise coming from the alley behind including a fight and some very loud arguments.

Parking was also quite expensive at $18.50 per day and located away from the hotel. It was quite a long walk to the main shopping area of Auckland, although having said that, the stores looked very uninspiring and most were closed the Sunday we were there and so I'm not sure that is a disadvantage. One good thing is that there is a supermarket about 5 minutes walk away.

We also object to paying for wifi. When are hotels going to get it that this is not a luxury but a necessity.

All up, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

By far the perfect place to stay if you are heading to Vector Arena- a few minutes walk gets you there. Add to that a lovely, very spacious and quiet apartment (hard come by in central Auckland) with a firm bed and powerful shower and a delicious coffee machine - hard to fault really. Only tiny wee thing we didn't like was the car parking arrangements- it's not too far to it but has 2 lots of steps so definitely not so good for the elderly, infirm, disabled or people with heaps of luggage! (there may well be provision made for that though and have to say we didn't ask) For a longer stay having laundry facilities in the bathroom is great though no bath might deter others. Free wi-fi in the rooms would be good though to be fair it is available in the foyer.
Saying all that- it will be on our list of places to stay for visits to Auckland again-especially for trips when we have tickets for Vector Arena.

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to a business apartment which had an "office" are between bathroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Whilst I do understand this a long stay apartment hotel; only changing the towels and emptying the rubbish after 3 1/2 days when paying hotel prices does not seem reasonable. The sheets on the beds could also be changed at a minimum, but as we were told when we called to ask why the sheets had not been changed - "we only do the bare minimum" and they were right!

In general the Waldorf Stadium Apartments are very good. The location is excellent, the service from most of the staff is very good and the rooms well maintained and good size. The wifi in our room was patchy at best but on check-out the Manager credited our account once he knew of the problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Waldorf Stadium Apartments for both business and pleasure and I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Not only is the hotel located close to all amenities including the supermarket, cafes, and a 10 min walk to Britomart, the rooms are in immaculate condition, everything is at your fingertips and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: If traveling for business, the Executive Studio was an excellent option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

am recently back from a trip to New Zealand. I stayed first at the Stadium Waldorf Apartment hotel before taking a road trip around North Island. On our return to Auckland we stayed again Stadium Waldorf. The hotel is very well located and the apartment felt like it had more space. than other hotels .. The breakfast restaurant. was fantastic though! Very good decor and excellent value for Auckland hotel accommodation

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Stadium in April. We were a party of 3 adults. The apartments were excellent apart from one thing. The second bedroom was so small that there was no room for a chair/table or anything to put clothes or a suitcase on which left only the floor and that space was not really big enough.

This unfortunately spoiled what was otherwise and excellent value for money place to spend a few days. The location in respect of the city's CBD was great, the staff were first class.

Please Waldorf management take note of this as it spoils a very good experience.

Room Tip: Check out the size of the second bedroom first!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Address: 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.