We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
wellington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“we will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked this lovely apartment Hotel on Agoda after I'd arrived in downtown Auckland and discovered that the other hotel I thought I was going to stay at had not processed my booking properly.
Lucky me, because I'll be staying at the Auckland City Stadium hotel from now on. Its convenient location is great - just a few minutes walk from the the water front area and Queen St. There's a couple of convenience stores close by ( including 24/7 count doen large super store)if you need some extra nibbles.Greta modern 5star accommodation at very reasonable weekly rate. Very secured and friendly hotel.Great free breakfast and good internet service.
The apartment hotel is quiet, friendly, clean and well-run. Its value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    295
    71
    20
    9
See reviews for
303
237
33
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling north with my wife's sister and brother-in-law. Deliberately booking accommodation with 2 bedrooms, we were not expecting such a high standard in central Auckland for $200 (including parking in the building next door). The apartment was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Easily a 4.5 to 5 star rating.

We will definitely stay here when attending events at the Vector Arena as it's only 200m walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is amazing, clean apartments and very comfortable rooms. The staff is amazing, helpful and friendly. The Location is not too bad, it's about two minutes walking to the sea, and two minutes walking to Countdown, a 24-hour Super Market. But the only thing I didn't really like is the room service, which is only twice a week!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Previous reviews are quite right!. It is within short walk of the rail way station and the waterfront area. good air conditioning and ventilation , .. So there was no traffic noise regardless of the central location of the hotel..good size spacious living room and kitchen.comfortable bathroom with laundry..There is a nice modern lobby area and good breakfast restaurant, . few coffee shops next door and many restaurants a 5 minute walk away. good parking at hotel next door. We took a super shuttle from the airport and got our rental car from Omega the next morning who picked us up by 8 at the hotel. very reasonable rate for 5 star accommodation.Good and very helpfull front desk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A nice modern apartment, spotlessly clean, well located, nice view. No free wifi however. A little difficult to find somewhere to pull up you car before you organize parking, but that was no big deal. There is a little lane to pull up into if you know where it is, or you may be lucky to get a street park out the front. Parking is at a reasonable cost and lasts the day when you checkout until you drive out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Waldorf in the city for 2days for a family holiday. After looking around we picked a modern two bedroom apartment here on the basis of good reviews and excellent pricing.
Overall I thought the apartment was excellent - the value was great (significantly cheaper than other options ) The bedrooms were quite spacious and nicely furnished , good kitchen ,laundry and efficent Air-Com.Everything was clean - no nasty surprises - and the facilities were good.

The hotel staff were .friendly - giving us advice on how to get around, and generally taking an interest. We didn't have to complain about anything which really was a bonus - it doesn't often happen, even in some of the most expensive places I've stayed!
There was not amy of inner-city noise, but that was primarily because there is double glazing & A/cranch .- very nice and good value breakfast supplied.Very central location -great for family stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We ( 2 adults and 1 teenager) stayed for 14 days ( jan 2013 ) and considered that the standard room was not 4.5 stars, mainly due to the following reasons :

* the second bedroom contained a bed and a wardrobe - there was no side table or reading lamp (the hotel said that it was only provided in the main bedroom !) They did provide these when we complained. You could only fit one side table and that required putting the bed up against one wall. You cannot shut out the light from the main bedroom if that room light is on, ( and vice
versa ) making it totally unsatisfactory if the two sets of occupants want to sleep at different times. We asked about possibly moving rooms but were told that all standard rooms were the same so we didn't bother.

* the main bedroom is a very odd shape, making it very awkward to get around and to access the wardrobe - it's very pokey

*there is nowhere to put suitcases

* no DVD player

* the low backed lounge is very uncomfortable for anyone other than a child, and is also too big a style for the room, encroaching on space

*the cooktop is poorly positioned so as to increase likelihood of burning yourself whilst cooking

*the ironing board cover was so thin you ended up imprinting one's clothes with it

*no basic toiletries were supplied - would have thought for a 14 day stay they could throw in a bit of shampoo and conditioner

*there is not a single piece of microwave cookware

*we only got 2 room services during our stay

Having said all that it is a convenient location and the beds were nice and firm.

Since leaving all the above feedback at the hotel, to date we have not heard from them.

Room Tip: If you are staying just a few nights it would be OK but not comfortable for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Address: 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.