We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Travellers Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Travellers Auckland to your Saves list
City Travellers Auckland
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

i spent 2 great months in this fantastic hostel. all the staff were very nice, owner a gent of man. located near the city centre , clean and a good price and made some good friends. would recommend to everyone..will return again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review and appreciate the feedback and it was our pleasure hosting you and hoping your enjoying your travels throughout NZ!

Regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    20
    11
    22
See reviews for
10
30
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very dirty bathroom with lots of mold in the shower, kitchen with stove and cutlery had not been cleaned properly. Old and dirty grey looking curtains etc... I asked to change to another room, but the other room looked the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and this is certainly something we will look to change and appreciate your feedback and hopefully we can redeem ourselves from here.

Safe Travels in NZ

Regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed a few nights at City Travellers, December 2012, in a clean, comfortable, good value for money room. Great facilities within the room, mini kitchen and en suite facilities PLUS, comfy armchair!! Lovely
Alas I left my phone in the room on leaving for home (United Kingdom)
E-mail enquiries to and fro between UK and City Travellers led to instant helpful replies and arrangements for the phone to be couriered home were agreed. Courier collection was not straightforward following administrative hiccups, but the Manager at City Travellers persevered and updated me of progress. It was clear he had dealt directly with the courier, beyond any obligation to me, in order to get the phone home.
I cannot praise them enough. If a six star rating was available, they would get it from me!
P.Wightman

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We certainly thank you for your review and it was our pleasure to ensure your belongings were cent back to you as it was our pleasure and we look forward to having you back some day

Safe Travels & regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent place to stay for short or long time. Friendly staff and good environment. Excellent location, close to the center of Auckland. Great place for small budget.
This place is like my second home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the time to review us and look forward to having you back again some day.

Safe Travels & regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a great place to stay. I booked a "Private Studio Apartment" and it was well worth the money. It is located in a great place within walking distance from University of Auckland, and the Ferry Point, which makes it very easy to catch the Auckland Explorer Bus.

Wifi is available at a cost. It costs you 10$ for 1 day and 25$ for 4 days.

There are also number of convenient stores nearby. The only negative point about my stay in City Travelers was its unfriendly staff.

Room Tip: Try to book a Private Studio Apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we appreciate your feedback and we certainly apologise if our team seemed unfriendly as this is not to our normal high standard so for this I certainly apologise.

Safe Travels and regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent place to live for a short or long stay, friendly people and safe environment to live. I was on the 5th level that's where the party was ,good conversations and crazy people to hang out with. Overall If looking for affordable place close to town center. This is the place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Regards
CTA Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was ideal location to Vector Arena as we stayed there to go to a concert, however the bathroom didn't look like it had been cleaned for a while, there were hairs in the sink and no vanity door. The lock on the door was just a push in button one so didn't feel very secure. The receptionist came into our room while we were in there about to show people our room but realised it was already occupied. The kitchen had a cut out bench top with a slab of wood overtop to cover the hole, the kitchen tap nearly fell off when you turned it on. The curtains weren't really curtains but just sheer material. Don't really understand why the room had such a nice tv though, would rather the money have been spent on something more important than the tv. Was not worth $80.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your email and appreciate your feedback and opportiunity for us to redeem ourselves as we have let ourselves down here and will certainly look to rectify this in the coming months.

Best regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Travellers Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Travellers Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Travellers Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.