We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpackers I've ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Travellers Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added City Travellers Auckland to your Saves list
City Travellers Auckland
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Best backpackers I've ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place to live for a short or long stay, friendly people and safe environment to live. I was on the 5th level that's where the party was ,good conversations and crazy people to hang out with. Overall If looking for affordable place close to town center. This is the place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Regards
CTA Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    20
    11
    23
See reviews for
10
30
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was ideal location to Vector Arena as we stayed there to go to a concert, however the bathroom didn't look like it had been cleaned for a while, there were hairs in the sink and no vanity door. The lock on the door was just a push in button one so didn't feel very secure. The receptionist came into our room while we were in there about to show people our room but realised it was already occupied. The kitchen had a cut out bench top with a slab of wood overtop to cover the hole, the kitchen tap nearly fell off when you turned it on. The curtains weren't really curtains but just sheer material. Don't really understand why the room had such a nice tv though, would rather the money have been spent on something more important than the tv. Was not worth $80.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your email and appreciate your feedback and opportiunity for us to redeem ourselves as we have let ourselves down here and will certainly look to rectify this in the coming months.

Best regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had clean sheets and towels and the bed was comfy, and it was close to the city where we needed to be.....phew! As for the rest, We had to ring on our cell phone to get someone to come to reception after waiting for 10 minutes. I wanted to buy a bottle of exit mold to leave with them for the shower. the cabinet door was kicked in, the sink had cigarette marks on it, and no cupboard doors on vanity (they'd been removed). There were only 2 out of 3 glass panels for the shower door! We were kept awake by the dripping toilet all night and loud city sounds. Our 'view' was concrete block inner city buildings. We had nearly sheer curtains which only just covered the window! The beautiful marble tiled floors looked like they hadn't been cleaned for years. We would have not been surprised to discover we were sharing our room with cockroaches and the like - thankfully we never encountered any. This 'experience' left us relieved to leave and go to the budget ibis. We paid less for the next hotel and were so happy to be in a clean, relaxed 'professional' environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken and the feedback you have written and we will be in the process of reviewing some of the comments made to make sure we are of much better and high standard as we have certainly let ourselves down with some of the issues you have expressed here and leaving to the Ibis Hotel whilst we are not in the same rating at the Ibis its still disappointing and will certainly look to rectify this.

Regards
CTA Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The whole place seemed as though it just ran itself there was no staff and it showed the rooms werent clean the bed very uncomfortable and its not cheap esspecially when theres so much better in auckland i wish i'd have known this before i booked

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to review us and we are disappointed with ourselves that we did not meet your expectations as this is something we strive to do, however I can assure you that we do have staff on daily and at times we maybe on other floors or attending to another guest needs however in this instacne we do apologise that we did not meet or exceed your requirements. We wish you safe travels

Regards
Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Location was good with a 24h supermarket 5 min walk. Staff were friendly. Room facilities were all one needed, however the carpet was badly marked and frayed while the bathroom vanity was rotting at the base from contact with wet floor and the wash basin had permanent interior scarring that detracted from its appearance. We also had to clean grime from the contact area between basin and wall. No night chain on the door. At $70 a night it was the best deal we could find on expedia for just 2 nights but disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and we have noted your comments on some of the things we can improve on and we will certainly be looking at these as it is the little things that can make a huge difference. So thank you and safe travels.

Regards
Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hostel / hotel is ok for the money, I looked at some much worse places before staying here for roughly the same money. The positives are it's close to Queen street/ CBD, the private appartment rooms were very big, had kitchettes & a wide screen TV. Negatives are street rooms can be noisy, the street lights shine through the ridiculously thin curtains & the windows were covered in mold. Overall the room served it's purpose & wasn't too bad for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback and comments regarding the windows will be one we will look to tackle, unfortunate regarding road noise as it is loud and something beyond our control but we will certainly look at the others that we can control and thank you for your time to review us

Regards
Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked a room at City Travellers for a week and ended up staying for almost three months while we found jobs and somewhere to live more long-term. It was perfect for what we needed - we had a studio room, which was a really large room with a large bed, a sofa and TV, table and chairs, a little kitchenette and a small en-suite. City Travellers itself is generally quite quiet. It's next to some student accommodation (we had a room at the back) and they can be a little bit noisy sometimes, but we probably only got disturbed about 5 or 6 times while we were there. The rooms at the front are a lot lighter, but also quite a lot noisier because of the road outside.

The location's great for the CBD and everything's within easy walking distance. Ranz and his team are great, very friendly and very helpful, it felt really safe and secure, and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for cheap, comfortable, central accommodation in Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranz F, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate the feedback and your comments and we have enjoyed having you back again, we wish you safe travels thru NZ and hope you enjoy our wonderful country.

Regards
Ranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Travellers Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your City Travellers Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Travellers Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.