We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Attic Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Attic Backpackers to your Saves list
Attic Backpackers
31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Attic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Attic Backpackers is one of the cleanest Hostels ive stayed in. All staff are friendly and have a great knowledge about activities and locations around not only auckland but much of New Zealand, especially the north island. The kitchen is layed out really well with more than enough preperation space and has really good cooking facilities. All the people that stayed at the Attic during my stay were really good entertaining people from all walks of life and from all over the world. The atmosphere in general is exceptional as there are many social areas where chatting and interacting with other guests is what takes up most evenings (when not going out drinking!!). There is a nice lounge and large t.v when having a quiet night in and even a new addition of a pool table. I'd recommend the Attic to anyone staying in central Auckland or even Auckland in general as its just that good......!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Awesome review, Thank you for making the time. Enjoy the rest of your Nz trip and look forward to seeing you on your return.
Cheers
The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
10
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Literally the cheapest and most central hostel I could find online and wow, what a clean, fresh and friendly hostel. Its not a stand alone building, but on the top floor of other businesses. That aside, welcomed by the very helpful staff, was given 4hrs free wifi, shown all round the hostel and there's free lollipops on reception. Rooms were kept clean, along with bathroom and kitchen. Rooftop decking socialising area also. Convenient to get airbus to and from airport also, just to top it all off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for making time to leave us a detailed review, Enjoy the rest of your trip. The Attic Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is the only hostel I ve had so far in NZ, and -believe me- it is the best one you can get in Auckland ! The service is great, the staff does everything to make it as easy as possible for you! You can ask them anything and they give you great suggestions about things to do in Auckland/NZ!
The hostel is located right in the city, so easy : lots of things are in walking distance, or if you need to go further away, the staff helps you with a smile to get the right buses/trains...
All the rooms are clean, the common areas (tv room, chill room, reception area, toilets...) are kept clean at all times. The kitchen is well equipped, only on 'rush hours' it can be busy. And off course the deck is very nice to hang out! :)
Just everything you need! Hope you ll enjoy it as much as I did!
Thanks Attic Team! You re doing a great job!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels,
The Attic Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel! Staff are so professional and helpful! A refreshing change. Highly recommend! The location is fantastic , situated in the heart of the city! 2 mins walk from the main high street and the port. Rooms super clean and tidy. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Auckland - stay here! Will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks so much for leaving your fantastic comments! We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do really try to keep our hostel looking spick and span, so I'm so glad you commented on this as well as our helpful and friendly staff! :-) We do hope that you will visit us again should you return to Auckland, enjoy your travels and NZ! Cheers, The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hostel itself is really nice and in a great location. Super convenient. The place is clean and bright and staff is always thinking of how to improve it further for its guests. I am compelled to write this review as the staff really went above and beyond to help me when my belongings had been stolen from a local bar. They were accommodating, compassionate and truly invested in my welfare. Steve and Laura were willing to do just about anything to help and the owner, Mike, went so far as to give me a ride to the police station just after meeting me. Cannot praise them enough. Would not hesitate to return as it is a lovely hostel run by wonderful people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Sky!

Thanks so much for your lovely comments, we are so glad that you found our staff to be so helpful! We hope you've had better luck since your stay with us and your unfortunate event didn't taint your image of our beautiful country too much! :-) Please visit us again if you return to Auckland!

Cheers, The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you are looking for a place to sleep in Central Auckland - this is the place to be. Only opened this autumn, this hostel is well maintained, clean and, considering the location, surprisingly quiet. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Only point of criticism is the price. If you want it cheap, you have to sleep in a 10 or 12 bed dorm, which accordingly makes it a bit difficult to sleep, as it doesn't only make it noisy but also really warm in the rooms. But compared to other hostels close to Queen Street The Attic is really worth the money.

Room Tip: The bigger dorms are spacious but a bit noisy, so if you like it quiet, choose a smaller one for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Anna,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hostel and our awesome friendly staff! In terms of our pricing, we are quite competitive with all of the other hostels in Auckland city, though you do get what you pay for and we consider our hostel to be the best hostel to stay at in Auckland CBD ;-) We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Auckland and enjoy your time in beautiful NZ!

Cheers, The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you're looking for a hostel that's well maintained, new, fresh, clean and above all friendly on a level that doesn't impose on or breach your human rights, then this is certainly the hostel for you! Without a doubt the best hostel I had the pleasure of using in NZ. I wanted to stay 3 days and ended up staying 2 weeks. After staying at Nomads on Queens St, this was a welcome change I can assure you.

Room Tip: Obviously less beds means less chance of being woken up in the early morning/middle of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Attic Backpackers, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hey Josh,

AWESOME review, thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave these lovely comments! Please do stay with us next time you are in Auckland,

Cheers The Attic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Attic Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attic Backpackers

Address: 31 Wellesley St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Topfloor Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Attic is a fresh and vibrant, newly refurbished top floor backpackers situated in the heart of the city centre, on Wellesley Street, just steps from the iconic Auckland Skytower and the hustle and bustle of Queen Street. Sleeping a maximum of 100 guests, we are a smaller inner city hostel than most, offering guests a central location and budget accommodation with a difference. Ride our traditional, 'old school' service lift to the top floor, which opens straight out on to The Attic. Enjoy a tour of our place upon check in, no impersonal pointing to your room and off you go, we want you to feel at home with us. Some of our larger dorms feature dividers so that even our most budget options are still as comfortable as a smaller dorm, attention to detail is important here at The Attic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, we go the extra mile to make your stay with us that little bit more special. Our guests comfort is the most important thing for us and we pride ourselves on creating a chilled, helpful and caring hostel environment in Auckland city centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Attic Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attic Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attic Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.