We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat place, reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BK Hostel

BK Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BK Hostel to your Saves list
BK Hostel
3 Mercury Lane, Auckland ., New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“neat place, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Me and my partner chose to stay at BK hostel last year after we had read numerous positive reviews and we were not disappointed. What we got was a very well run and clean hostel with an excellent location in downtown auckland.

rooms and common bathrooms we were very clean and staff were very helpful and professional and rooms which is pretty much all that is needed from a budget hostel.

one thing i should mention, due to central location of BK hostel, weekend nights can be quite noisy due to the hostel's location on K'gape Road (K Road) which is a major destination when it comes to weekend boozing due to large amounts of bars and cafes located along the said street.

otherwise this is great stay where you get a great value for your money. very much recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in a twin room. The room was basic but clean, we had a window and the heating worked well. The kitchen and washroom were cleaned thoroughly every day and we have no complaints whatsoever about the hostel itself. We even got a discount for staying for 7 nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is also very conveniently close to the city centre. We had our only negative experience on Friday and Saturday night when the noise outside was so loud that I had to sleep with ear plugs. The noise is of course is understandable due to the hostel's location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

In this hostel you have to be careful what kind of room do you book. You can end up with room without windows :-) The hostel is well located. It is nice walk (downhill) to the downtown of Auckland. Hostel is on Ka road - gay and transvestite area. Right next to the hostel is Subway restaurant and many Asian food stores.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We chose this hostel on the basis it was the cheapest place in Auckland to get a double room, and we were not dissapointed! All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, whilst the internet was a reasonable price and the room a good size and clean. The kitchen was also good, maybe a bit small, but I never saw it over filled with people even for the number of people staying, showers were clean and hot and the location was great - you can walk all over auckland from here as your base!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

BK ticks all the right boxes, very clean, efficient and value for money. Just an out and out good hostal. Fully recommended. The hostal is about a 10 minute walk to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed at the BK Hostel from June 17th – July 1st 2009

Pros:
• The hostel is located off the very famous, Karangahape road, which is located 20 minutes (walking) from central downtown Auckland, and is conveniently located close to malls, tourist attractions, theatres and tourist shops.
• 24 hour access into the hostel. Guests were given a swipe card to get into the building, and a key to their room.
• Bathrooms were kept really clean.
• Very quiet.

Cons:
• The hostel is located at the top of a very large hill. Walking down into town was awesome but it sucked when you were carry groceries back to the hostel.
• The hostel doesn’t have any heat; this was unfortunate. Auckland was experiencing an unusually cold winter, and nights were dipping down to zero. I had spent the two previous weeks in Fiji, and the average high for the day was around 30°. Quite the shock to the system.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I stayed here with my son several years ago and always wanted to review this hostal because I have very good feelings about this place. We booked the BK for 2 nights when we first arrived in Auckland, a city I would never return to, too smoggy and dirty, but the BK was spotlessly clean and was cleaned daily by the people who I assumed were the owners. It is on a fairly busy street with a friendly cafe across the street that is good for breakfast. The area is ethnic minorities with a gay brothel next door thrown in for a little local color and excitement. with some well dressed and apparently harmless trannies hanging about outside, . There was a large social area with a pool table in the hostal and I believe there was a small clean kitchen to use. The beds were comfy, but the room small and everything was painted white. The bathrooms and shower areas were clean. The people who worked at the hostal were friendly and helpful. After touring around the island we returned to Auckland and did not stay at the BK, which was a mistake. We booked the Fat Camel hoping that being by the water the air would be cleaner and I would not suffer from the smog that envelopes Auckland. The Fat Camel was a disgusting hovel. We should have returned to the BK, but you know, shoulda, woulda, coulda. If you want a small family run spotlessly clean hostal, this could be your place.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BK Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK Hostel

Address: 3 Mercury Lane, Auckland ., New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BK Hostel!Located in the centre of Auckland, major sights like Queen Street, the Aotea Square, the Civic Theatre, many parks and gardens and the Waterfront are only a few minutes walk away. Having cafes, bars, restaurants, post shops and banks close by daily jobs can easily be done from here.Rebuilt in 2003, our hostel offers a total of 49 rooms with most of them having large windows. Whether you are a backpacker looking for a budget dorm bed or prefer a bit more privacy in a single room we can find the right thing for you. We also offer weekly rates for those who want to experience Auckland for longer than just a few days. All our beds are freshly made providing linen, sheets, a duvet and a pillow as well as good quality mattresses for our single and queen-size beds. Every room is regularly cleaned and equipped with closets. With the exception of the dorm rooms all our rooms are also equipped with a desk and a chair making your stay as convenient as possible. The two kitchens are spacious and clean and equipped with everything to store, cook and enjoy your food. Both of them provide a separate tap for filtered water as well as an unlimited access to hot water. Our bathrooms provide separate, clean, self-contained shower cabins and toilets. If you do not feel like getting into Auckland’s nightlife make yourself comfortable in our spacious lounge. You can watch TV or a movie out of our DVD library or have a game of pool with your mates.Other features of our facility are:* Very safe (Fire safety & High tech security camera approved)* Friendly helpful staff* Coin operated laundry* Luggage storage (short & long term storage available) – bikes, bags,surfboard…* Towels, iron, hair dryer, fans, scale, adaptor etc available for hire.* Internet/Wi-Fi available* Pay phone* 24 hour access with a card key provided* Visa, Master Card, Eftpos available* Link bus route* Airport transport on arrangement or from the close by bus stop of the AirBus ExpressEnjoy your stay in Auckland! :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your BK Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BK Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BK Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.