We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   85 Wakefield Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Small but everything you need. We liked the independence of a weekly clean. Just take care of your towels.
Parking beware. Unless you are taking off very early each weekday morning dont use the $6 overnight parking- use the hotel parking which is $20 for each day--24 hours. Just need to factor it into the cost of the stay. We got caught more than once eg $80 parking for the public holiday..
Its a good spot for walking to the city things and for escaping in the car to country things. Big hill to walk up. But the city is hilly.
Clean but not spotless- except bedding is excellent. Fully equipped but tiny kitchen. Cost for internet ( my Skype meeting went fine, i used a wifi access point to the wired net). There is also Free wifi from the cafe downstairs. I chose this one because many other hotels said there was noise from the street all night. We were glad to be just out of the way of the really heaving nightlife. Our room was on the ground floor- below reception on the 1st floor so very quiet from internal noise as well.
j

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swathi-Kota, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear JilaPerth

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you are able take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    77
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
73
59
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

very good Auckland City location near AUT and Queen Street area.We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen & good and cheap internet service,The apartment was clean and nicely decorated.As we rent the apartment for 8 weeks our rental average was about NZ$75 per day- Great value for Auckland City. We will visit back now that we find this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Koh K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and able take advantage of our central location, great room, great price.

We look forward to meeting you in near future. Please feel free to pass our contact details to your friends or colleagues. Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Tetra apartments is a modern building and well managed one. it is clean , secured and cheaper than other hotels and in a good location near Queen Street.. The airport shuttle bus stops a couple of blocks from the hotel. You can walk from the hotel to the centre of the city at the harbour, the University . It is also within walking distance of the Auckland Museum and Domain park. It is also within walking distance of Backpackers Autobarn if you want to buy a cheap car or van. You can get a nicer hotel but it will cost you a lot more money. The only place cheaper that I found was the backpackers hostel which do not provide this quality of accommodation and privacy. High speed internet is available but is limited to 50 MB per day. Mostly Asian restaurants and good on site coffee shop .. English style restaurants are near the waterfr and Queen Street. Not the greatest 5 star hotel but is a good place to spend your first day or two in NZ until you rent a camper see Auckland before moving on. Excellent value for money!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Channahsteul,

Thank for your wonderful review. We are glad that you are able take advantage of our central location, great rooms, great price.

We would love to have you back in near future. Please feel free to pass our contact details to your friends or colleagues. Once again thank you for your wonderful review.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night to come and see a game at Eden Park.
The front desk staff were very friendly both on check in and check out.
If it's space you want, you will be disappointed. However in saying this, it was alright for the one night stay with our young daughter.
The room was clean and tidy and the beds very, very comfortable.
The location was perfect. Close to the hussle and bussle of Queen St but not close enough to be noisy.
All in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Donna J,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you are able take advantage of our central location. When booking next time please book our 1 bedroom apartment which are very spacious as compared to studio apartment.

I look forward to meeting you in near future.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, NZ
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I needed a room in central Auckland for a night, and looking through the discount websites found a great deal at the Tetra Waldorf for only $80. I must admit i was bit concerned at how bad it was going to be.

My concerns were all totally unfounded; friendly staff, easy check-in, a very new room, clean, good heating, comfortable bed (it was only a queen but fine for just me) and good water pressure in the shower - everything I could have ever expected.

I was on the ground floor with a veiw onto an alley but that's not why I was staying there.

The only downer was the noise from other rooms doors closing up and down the hallway, but it was very minor compared to all the pluses.

I even made it down to the 'gym' the next morning - some free weights, a weight machine and a tread mill, nothing spectacular but fine to burn off some energy.

It's central to Queen St, the University and the city centre.

I'll definitely be looking for another cheap deal, and will be back to stay next time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Andye 10000,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you are able take advatange of our central location, great rooms, great price.

We look forward to meeting you in near future. Please feel free to pass our contact details to your friends or colleagues. Once again thank you for your wonderfurl review.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in April for over 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom apartment on 12th floor, south facing so no problem with sun making the rooms too warm. The website doesn't mention air con but there was a floor standing fan. We were told it was warmer than usual for April but the windows and balcony sliding door would keep the place cooler if needed. Hum of traffic noise could be heard but not enough to disturb us.

Whole apartment very clean, beds very comfortable, plenty of pillows and towels. Serviced once a week which suited us instead of having housekeeping coming in every day. No problem taking our own rubbish downstairs as was washing our own clothes in the laundry. Hairdryer in one bedroom with iron and ironing board [could do with more padding] Enough wardrobe/drawer space.

Staff and management very helpful and friendly.

We thought about hiring a car and were told it was 20NZD for 24 hours, not per night as others mention. So it could be better value for 24 hours than some other places - plenty of parking nearby to choose from.

We were visiting family, who we could visit easily by bus from the bus stop opposite apartments. Location very good for visiting Auckland sights - as other reviews mentioned Wakefield Street is quite steep so you're glad of the bus after a day's sightseeing. The fare up the hill is cheap, or look on Auckland Transport website about a HOP card. The red City Link bus stops on 'K' Road not too far to walk back from via Symonds Street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Val B,

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw . Any reveiw we receive helps to make us better.Our team prides itself in its ability to exceed the expectations of our guests and so it is always very encouraging to learn when they do.

We look foraward to welcoming you in near future and please feel free to pass our deatils to your friends and family.Once again thank you for your reveiw

Kind Regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

First things first there parking they offer for $20 a night is across the road (not attached to building) then to find out another 30seconds down the road is underground parking for $6 a night-not very pleased!
We stayed in 2 different rooms so the first room had hair in the shower, tea and coffee not refilled, dirty pots and pans, utensil draw needed at the least a wipe out ,skirting boards were filthy and found a computer mouse under the bed so perhaps cleaners are not checking under them?? Also a very dark and gloomy room and one of the bedside lamps had no where to be plugged in-pointless!
2nd night 2nd room there was mould on the bedroom wall in the corner, can't miss it!, also there is paint coming off the ceiling in the bathroom and beginning to mould and once again skirting boards were filthy. These are reasonably simple things to clean/fix and is a real shame that it looks as though it just comes down to pure laziness. Personally we won't stay ever again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for your comment. Guest feedback is very important to us and all comments, both positive and negative, are taken very seriously.

I appreciate your comments about the standard of our housekeeping and this is a major concern for us. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what went wrong and what we can do to make it better.

We are also currently invistagating about the car park price which you have told us as we were under the impression that we are providing cheap carparking prices to our guest.

It was disappointing to learn of your poor experience with us. We love to have you back so that we can prove you that this is not our operating standard.

Please accept my sincere apologies for some disappointing aspects of your stay.

Kind Regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Address: 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Tetra offers affordable self-contained apartment accommodation in central Auckland. Located within walking distance to Auckland and AUT Universities it is a great location for students as well as tourists, as all of Auckland CBD's main attractions are easily accessible from the Waldorf Tetra. In room kitchenette's allow guests to self-cater with cutlery and cooking utensils provided in room. Guests can purchase groceries from one of the local markets to cook in-room or enjoy experiencing some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. Conveniently located on the ground floor of Waldorf Tetra is a cafe serving breakfast Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Waldorf Budget Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.